Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Hobbiton Movie Set Small Group Tour from Auckland

Badge of ExcellenceAuckland Central, New Zealand

From US$105.82

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Visit the Hobbiton Movie Set on a full-day tour from Auckland that explores New Zealand's 'Middle-earth,' where 'Lord of the Rings' and 'The Hobbit' came to life on film. Travel through a landscape of lush farms, then take a guided tour of the 12-acre (4.8-ha.) Hobbiton Movie Set, from hobbit holes to gardens and the Green Dragon Inn. With free time to shop and explore, this tour includes transport from selected locations in Auckland, and it's limited to 16 travelers to ensure personalized service.
  • Full-day tour of the Hobbiton Movie Set
  • See New Zealand's lush farming landscape
  • Guided tour of the movie set
  • Includes a Hobbit-themed drink at the Green Dragon Inn
  • Small-group tour limited to 11 people
  • Pickup and drop-off at selected locations in Auckland

What's Included

  • Small Group & Fully Guided Tour
  • Entry ticket & fully guided tour - Hobbiton Movie Set (unless you booked the Transport Only option)
  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Optional extras and activities - please select the tour option you want at time of booking

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

Hotel pick-ups are from the below hotels only, starting up to 20 mins before your tour time. Please see below what group your hotel is in and what your pick-up time is. Please be waiting in your accommodation's lobby or outside no later than this time to avoid missing your pick up. Guides have multiple pick-ups so can on occasion run up to 10 minutes late. Guides cannot wait for late passengers as it will mean the entire group is at risk of missing out, so please be waiting and ready (5-10 minutes before your listed time is highly recommended) Group 1: 20 minutes before tour start time. Grand Mercure Auckland (no longer exist there is Movenpick hotel instead) please be waiting at Movenpick if you selected Ports of Auckland as your pick up location Group 2: 15 minutes before tour start time. Pullman Auckland Group 3: 10 minutes before tour start time SkyCity Hotel Auckland Group 4: 5 minutes before tour start time. Four Points by Sheraton Group 5: At tour start time or up to 10 minutes after. Cordis Hotel Auckland Passengers that miss their pick up will be required to meet the tour at the tour's first stop at their own expense to continue on the tour. No refunds will be given to late or no show passengers. Auckland Airport (Butterfly Creek) pick up must be requested and approved by our team in writing to receive your pick up time. Pick up time will normally be 20 - 30 minutes after the tour start time.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years.
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved.
  • Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not recommended for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Children 7 years old and under are required to travel in a child safety car seat. If you don't have a car seat one can be provided, please contact us at least 24 hours in advance to arrange this.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Considering it is 2 , almost 3 hours driving each way from Auckland, plus the waiting around at the entrance / car park for your turn to enter , is it all worth the time and effort?
It is must for any LOTR fan, capped off by a pint at the Green Dragon.
Reviews
5.0
270 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 270 reviews
Making our dreams come true
Rebecca_S, Jan 2023
Just generally the whole day was great, from the short bus ride to walking around the set. Just so magical. We wished it would have lasted longer!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again in the future.
Never book thru Viator again!
Chris_K, Jan 2023
My tour was canceled by Cheeky Kiwi Tours on 12/20/22. I booked another tour through another tour group. You still charged me for the tour and I want a refund.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Hello, Cheeky Kiwi is not aware of this situation and that you have not been refunded. Can you please get in contact with Cheeky Kiwi so we can get this situation resolved ASAP and make sure you are refunded by your agent if there is refunds due.
I got to do this with...
Casey_S, Jan 2023
I got to do this with Grant who was so kind and fun to do the day with! It was so cool getting to see hobbiton
Happy in Hobbiton
Joyce_M, Jan 2023
Brendan, our driver and guide on the trip from Auckland to the Hobbiton Movie Set, provided excellent commentary about the movie set and also answered many other questions we had about New Zealand and its people. Mary, our guide at Hobbiton, was very entertaining. The movie set is beautiful to see and any fan of the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings movies will love this excursion. We had a wonderful time from start to finish.
The pick-up was on time...
Keitho, Jan 2023
The pick-up was on time and even though it rained that morning we were delighted to see the Hobbit houses on the tour. Well run and friendly driver.
Just transportation
Lynn_W, Jan 2023
Driver was very nice but basically this "tour" was only transportation from Auckland to Hobbiton. Never saw the movies but it was a family trip and my husband and adult son enjoyed Hobbiton.
A Highlight of our Trip
Steve_P, Jan 2023
This was amazing! We both enjoy Tolkien, but we would have loved this fairy tale setting even if we hadn't read the books and seen the movies. It's beautifully executed and detailed. It exceeded our expectations.
Hobbiton
Dianne_G, Jan 2023
Hobbit on is fantastic for LoR fans. The guides are very enthusiastic and lots of interesting stories. The bus trip to and from Auckland was uncomfortable and overcrowded
Well worth a visit if in Auckland
Ringo68, Jan 2023
We walked through Hobbiton at a nice easy pace. Knowledgeable staff and wonderful gardeners kept Hobbiton perfect. Very authentic. Learnt a few tricks of the film industry trade on how they filmed the different size stars against the hobbit doors
Great visit to Middle Earth
Richard_B, Jan 2023
Jason did a great job driving and narrating. Stopped for coffee on the way down from Auckland and ice cream on the way back. The tour was excellent and exactly what we were looking for. Gift shop was adequate but could have used more t shirt options. The Middle Earth maps were out of stock. Great tour guide on the walk through the set. We had a nice day but could be slippery if it had rained. Enjoyed the drink at the Green Dragon. All in all a great tour.
Good but expensive
Jessica_M, Jan 2023
Driver was great. But it is still a bit expensive for what you get. Could do with snacks being offered (as they weren't on my trip).
Well organized and...
David_G, Dec 2022
Well organized and Hobbiton was great! The only thing I’d change if I did it again is I’d probably skip eating when we stopped for lunch since we were headed back to the city right after but that’s an individual preference and having the option was nice.
Great experience
Jennifer_W, Dec 2022
We had an awesome time. My family loves both trilogies and it was awesome to see them enjoy the experience. The beer at the Green Dragon was very good and it was fun to sit in the set. I would definitely recommend this experience.
Don't do it, I feel ripped off
Hayo_O, Nov 2022
In the description it was mentioned that snacks and drinks were available in the bus tour. One day before the event started, we got a notification that too few people had enrolled, and that another, smaller tour bus would pick us up. Eating and drinking was not allowed. Although the drive aka tourguide was a nice guy, i dont see the added value of my booking through this website the ticket prices for Hobbiton are not even $90 (€55). I emailed Viator for their explanation, and their answer was not satisfying at all, so I want to warn all people considering this, I feel completely ripped off.
Well done Hobbiton!
Carolyn_B, Nov 2022
This was an enjoyable experience… very well done and not overly touristy. Even if you haven’t seen the movies it is a wonderful tour.
AMAZING DAY
Keith_M, Oct 2022
Our driver, Jason was very knowledgeable and kept us all entertained from the time we were picked up to the time we were dropped off. Would highly recommend this tour! You will not be disappointed!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Great to hear that you had a nice time with Jason! Thanks so much for joining us on tour.
Jason was a terrific guide, very informative, would recommend this tour to everyone!
mary_u, Oct 2022
Jason, our guide was wonderful. Hobbiton was GREAT. Would recommend both highly! Very informative and interesting.
Disappointed in Viator
ElsieAnne_P, Oct 2022
Hobbiton itself was absolutely delightful ; however, Viator cancelled 3 of the 4 excursions that I had booked with them weeks prior for my trip to Australia and New Zealand. In trying to rebook, could not get the same time or same rate that I had paid.
Awesome!
Jennifer_A, Aug 2022
The tour was amazingly beautiful with a great drive from the city. We stopped half way through each way. Our guide Sunny at Hobbiton was so funny and friendly!
A great day
Megan_K, Jul 2022
Wonderful experience, I would recommend this to any LORs fan. It’s exactly like the movies and the guide was very knowledgeable.
...