Maui is open for tourism. Some product availability may be impacted on the western side of the island. Please check with local travel authorities for guidance.

Haleakala Sunrise Tour - Welcome! Maui is Open

Kapalua, United States
Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour
Special Offer

From US$199.22

US$234.38 Save US$35.16

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 10 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Experience an incredible daybreak view from top of Maui’s highest peak during this 7- to 8-hour Mt. Haleakala sunrise tour. Journey with a guide on this massive volcano to witness the orange and red-colored dawn of a new day set amidst the clouds, enjoying the sublime beauty of a sight that once inspired literary great Mark Twain. This Maui sunrise excursion also includes round-trip hotel transportation, breakfast and entrance fees.
  • Sunrise trip to Haleakala on Maui
  • See the sun rise over Haleakala crater
  • Breathtaking views of Maui at sunrise
  • Scenic drive through Kula District
  • Professionally narrated tour
  • Pick-up and drop-off at Maui hotels

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Haleakala National Park admission fee
  • Tour narration by a professional driver/guide
  • Pick-up and drop-off at specific Maui hotels
  • Gratuities
  • Port pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

IMPORTANT: Access is restricted to Lahaina on the west side of Maui and hotels on the west side are temporarily not accepting reservations. All other areas including Kihei, Kahului, Hana, Wailea and Makena are open and welcoming visitors. The tour times provided reflect the start and end of the tour, but not your exact pickup and drop off time. Whether or not you've provided your hotel/lodging at the time of booking, you are required to contact the tour provider no less than (2) days prior to your tour date to receive your exact pickup time and location. The tour provider will advise you of the specific area at the hotel/lodging you should wait; for example "at the front entrance." Please be there at least 5 minutes before your pickup time. If your hotel/lodging is not included on our pickup schedule, you'll be advised to meet at nearby location. Please note that we are prohibited by certain properties to pickup non-hotel guests and we do not pick-up at private properties such as AirBnB's and residential areas.

What To Expect

Start your day in Maui with a breathtaking sunrise view of the island from atop its highest peak on this daybreak excursion to Mount Haleakala. This exceptional sunrise experience is sure to be a highlight of your trip to Maui.

Start your trip in the dark of the very early morning with a pickup at your Maui hotel. You’ll then continue by air-conditioned minibus on a scenic drive passing the Kula District. and Maui’s rare silversword plants.

Arriving at the Haleakala National Park, steadily climb by minibus up Haleakala to 9,740 feet elevation to the Visitor Center. You’ll see Maui’s rare and endemic silversword plants that poignantly bloom once, then perish. You’ll also witness the sunrise from the Visitor Center area. The views from Haleakala are nothing short of spectacular. Writer Mark Twain, upon visiting the peak in 1866, wrote that the volcano was “the most sublime spectacle I ever witnessed and the memory of it will remain with me always.”

Observe the first rays of the new day slowly creep across the distant horizon. Soon the sky fills with the majestic glow of the new day, and the warm beams of light creep across the island of Maui, illuminating the land below. It’s a sight you’re sure to remember for many years to come.

At the end of your morning sunrise experience you’ll head to breakfast at a local restaurant and then receive a drop-off back at your Maui hotel, tired but thrilled by your amazing morning trip.

Haleakala Crater

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Headquarters Visitor Center

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Makawao (Pass By)

Kula (Pass By)


1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Please contact the tour provider at minimum of 7 days prior to the tour date for ADA and all special requests.
  • Haleakala is known for rapidly changing weather conditions and dense clouds and rain are common. As a result, clear viewing of the sunrise is not guaranteed, and the tour operates rain or shine. Refunds will be granted only when the tour is cancelled for safety reasons.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The high altitude at the summit area may complicate health conditions and breathing difficulties. Elderly visitors, pregnant women, young children, and those with respiratory or heart conditions should consult their doctor prior to touring. Walk slowly and drink water to avoid dehydration. If you have gone scuba diving, you should wait at least 72 hours before going on this tour.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 72 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

You can do drive up and down on your own if you have a car, but please be warned, the drive is challenging and somewhat risky if you are not used to driving in the mountains.
dress warm as it was 40 degrees and windy at 5am.


1,352 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,352 reviews
Haleakala Sunrise Tour
Nikki_H, Sept 2023
This is my first time to witness the sunrise especially on the top of Haleakala. What an amazing view of the sunrise. Well worth it to wake up very early (2am) to catch the tour pick up. Make sure to dress warm or layers & bring gloves. Who would have thought of the need to pack jacket & gloves to Maui? This is the month of September that I'm talking about. I guess if up on top of the mountain, it regardless of what months. It's always cold. Since we didn't pre-booked this Haleakala Sunrise tour before arrived to the island, we didn't packed the jackets. Luckiky, we were able to purchase jackets from the local Costco store a day before. The tour & our driver were great. The tour also included breakfast at the Maui Tropical Plantation after heading back down from the sunrise. All & all my husband & I really enjoyed it. We took many pictures but the pictures didn't do their justice. We glad we got to witness it ourself. Mahalo!!!
Jacqueline_S, Sept 2023
Terrific tour guide! Preston was Informative, funny, accommodating!! The sunrise trip is a definite must! Breakfast was fabulous, too! Take warm clothes! Would highly recommend!!!!
A wonderful experience
Barb_D, Sept 2023
We saw an amazing sunrise. Preston our tour guide was fantastic with giving tips and guides for enjoying the experience. He took time and pointed out many extra things on the drive down to a fantastic breakfast. Thank you Preston for making this a fantastic early morning adventure!
Checking on family after the fire.
Joel_L, Sept 2023
Pictured with my daughter and I is undoubledly the best Haleakala Sunrise Tour Guide on Maui. Our tour was completed in May 2023 and prior to the fire. Just writing to learn if she and her family are safe and healthy. Thank you
Great tour
Christine_F, Aug 2023
Sunrise was spectacular. Guide very knowledgeable and breakfast was delicious. Enjoyed very much. Dress warmly.
Wonderful experience !!!
Carla_P, Aug 2023
I enjoyed the tour, left the driving to someone who was an excellent tour guide she knew the history of the mountain and culture Nettie was the best The only change would be a little more time when it was light for a few good pictures
It was ok
Alexandra_J, Aug 2023
Didn’t provide cold weather jackets. Luckily, I asked and they recommended we borrow hotel blankets. But this should have been addressed prior to the trip. I thought this was a biking tour. It was grouped with all the biking tours.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We apologize for any confusion about what is provided on the tour. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll use it to improve our services. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Laura_C, Aug 2023
Having Nettie as our tour guide made for the best experience ever! She educated us on everything Hawaiian and more she is a very special human!!! The sunrise was amazing I would highly recommend this tour especially with Nettie!
You will be tired and cold but happy
Cindy_W, Jul 2023
We’ve seen it and got the pictures! Pick up was at 2:25am, we managed but read more below. You’re driving through the night which is special in its way as a) it’s safe on the bus and b) you get to see the star filled sky. Beautiful. It’s very cold on top of Haleakala but not because of the actual temperatures but the strong winds. Bring a wind breaker with you. Most special part for me was when the Hawaiian song was sung once the sun peaked. This tour is one of the higher $$$ one but worth it and to see the sunrise. Dino was our driver, a funny and very chatty person. We enjoyed the breakfast but seen people turning their noses up; not sure why. Pancakes and Hawaiian cooked breakfast plate were both enjoyable. Loved the coffee! Why 4/5. Unlike other tour operators, this one didn’t communicate pick up time and exact meeting location ahead of time. I booked this tour months ago and thought they would follow up at some point. (1) I had to ask the receptionist at our hotel to call them and find out. I am not from the US so it should never be assumed, we can all freely make calls and follow up. A simple text message 24h ahead of time would be most sufficient but didn’t happen until after our call (2) the pick up was at 2:25am which is as such fine but again the person organising this needs to take into consideration, it’s in the middle of the night. Suggesting a parking lot at the back of the hotel with no hotel staff around or without added security does not feel save. And yes that’s where they got us to meet. At the back of the hotel, in the parking lot where there was no one and the bus ran 10 min late. As a woman with two daughters, not a great experience. Please let a woman in your team organise the pick up location ~ we do think differently when it comes to what is and what feels save in the middle of the night. I’m relieved all worked out in the end but just something to be aware of.
Preston was such a chill...
HyunJung_Y, Jul 2023
Preston was such a chill and amazing guide! He told us so much about the park and Maui on general. And of course, seeing the sunrise on Haleakala was an unforgettable experience. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Maui.
Don't Hesitate! A Maui Must!
Justin_W, Jul 2023
Listen... if this excursion was the only activity I did while in Maui, I would be completely content... even though I didn't get to see the sunrise (due to the thick clouds)! The value of this experience exceeds the price! Our tour guide did an overall amazing job! We were among the first to the mountaintop, so we were able to grab great spots. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and the charter bus was nice and clean. The breakfast was delicious and the property on which it was held was also amazing. I did this activity solo; however, I recommend this excursion for all group sizes! Enjoy! Note: It gets really cold on the mountaintop (35-40 degrees). I read the reviews beforehand and prepared accordingly for the weather. I had about 2.5 layers of clothes on... and I was still freezing! (mostly due to the mist) All in all, unless you're used to that type of climate, I recommend dressing with at least 2 layers and/or bringing a change of clothes for after coming down the mountain. Also, take your time when walking on the top of the mountain. We were 10,000+ ft above sea level and the air is about 20% thinner (please don't underestimate the difference it makes).
Sunrise Amazing, Choose a Different Tour Company
Donna_I, Jul 2023
Don’t choose this tour. There are much better Sunrise Tours available. My sister and I traveled together. I mistakenly booked a different tour than she did. The cover pictures looked the same. She had a much better experience. Our tour guide used an app instead of speaking on the way back and did not make one stop. My sister’s tour guide made stops, took pics of each family and gave them lots of interesting information. Breakfast at Cafe O'Lei at the Plantation was great, but the shuttle after breakfast was almost hour late and very disorganized. We were told to go back and forth to the different buses until one driver finally agreed to take us back to our condo. The Sunrise was amazing and highly recommend seeing it. The prices of other tours are very comparable. I just can’t recommend this tour company.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Mahalo!
Magical and memorable Maui tour
Rin_L, Jul 2023
Every single part of this tour was absolutely magical and memorable. My tour guide was Nettie. She knew the ins and outs of every single part of this beautiful Maui landscape. She navigated the mountain with ease. She serenaded the attendees. This tour guide gave an essence and flare to this tour that only Nettie at Polynesian Adventure Tours has the ability to provide you with! You really feel like "Ohana" during this tour! There is a beauty that ignites in you during your stay in Maui after seeing the sunrise on this Mauna. This was definitely a bucket list tour. Some advice: always check your tour bus and guest list and get all the details for pick up from your hotel to ease your boarding process and make your early morning that much easier for you, tour guides and other passengers. I did not write down my pickup information right away and got confused and rode the wrong bus for a couple stops (the guides and passengers worked this all out and assisted with getting me on the right tour with the right guide). The professionalism and kindness shown during my confusion really opened up my eyes to the true meaning of Aloha! This is an early tour try to get as much rest as you can the night before! Check in with the tour host and write down your pickup details especially if you have a lot of tours planned and have a lot going on in your stay. If you get car sick or have any kind of motion sickness issues I would recommend you take something over the counter to help. Having some gum, mints or ginger chews is ideal! I don't get car sick or have motion sickness but my mom does and she had to take Dramamine in order to be able to enjoy this ride even with Nettie's smooth sailing up the mountain. Bring some water but don't bring too much extra stuff with you (less is more). Bring warm clothes to wear for the sunrise. You will be at high altitudes and the weather will be much cooler than you think. Save room for a very filling breakfast! The food where we stopped was phenomenal especially after a long bus ride. I had the pancakes and they were beyond delicious. I am so glad this tour ended up working out for me despite the odds but I wouldn't have traded it for the world. I'm so grateful for this experience and hope if you're coming to Maui that you make time to scratch this off of your bucket list!
Charles_M, Jul 2023
The tour was cancelled because a tropical storm. Hopeful that we get the money back! I agree that safety goes first
Response from Host, Jul 2023
When we must cancel due to safety concerns, a full refund is issued. Please reach out to your booking agency if you haven't received your credit in 7-10 days. Mahalo!
50/50 Chance to see sunrise & our tourguide was so boring
Bach_N, Jul 2023
Unfortunately it was a cloudy day so we were unable to see the sunrise. It was surprising to hear the driver say that there was a 50/50 chance people get to see the sunrise. Given that this trip takes up over 8 hours of our day and the price, I probably would not have booked this tour. I knew the risk, I just didn't know it was that high of a chance we would not see the sunrise. However, even if we didn't get the optimal views, I would have at least expected for an engaging and informative tour guide. Ours was terrible. He was so soft spoken and muttered while he spoke that it was nearly impossible to understand him. And his commentary was so dull and lackluster. Not seeing the sunrise was out of our control. The four hours in the bus with an unenthusiastic tourguide was brutal. My wife and I were incredibly disappointed.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you for posting your feedback - we are sorry to hear that your expectations weren't met. We've shared your comments with our management team for appropriate follow-up. Mahalo.
Go with other tour company
JeongyeonJoy_Y, Jul 2023
Sunrise was stunning and I know it is really hard to get parking slot so I was grateful for it, but the driver we had was really rude and did not give much of information about the mountain itself. He was keep cutting off people’s questions and express frustration when himself was not clear about instructions. It really ruined the vibe. Breakfast was also super large scale mediocre breakfast. There were other tours that hand out blankets and jumpers, or guide were more instructive by the look of it. Go with other tour company.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you for posting your comments. We are sorry that your expectations weren't met. Hope you had a nice time in the islands. We've shared this review with our management team for appropriate follow up. Mahalo.
Maui Sunrise
Nicholas_B, Jul 2023
Our experience was okay. I feel as if it was a cool experience but not worth the price. For the price you’re paying, I feel as if you should be guaranteed a good spot but you have to fight with others to see the sunrise. Our tour guide although he was nice, was extremely monotone and could tell that he didn’t want to be there. I also felt like the breakfast wasn’t necessary but the place it was at was cool.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Mahalo for your feedback, unfortunately the National Park Service doesn't guarantee reserved spots. Hope you had a nice time in the islands.
Amazing experience
Kara_P, Jul 2023
Amazing sunrise (dress warm), knowledgable tour guide, delicious breakfast!! It was a perfect way to start our Maui vacation!
Breath taking!
Tati_L, Jul 2023
Incredible experience The weather was perfect and our tour guide Preston was amazing in every way. Mahalo nui.
Most beautiful thing
Danny_M, Jul 2023
We had the pleasure of getting Preston as our guide. He was so knowledgeable and truly wanted to share it with us. He stayed back to be the last bus to leave after the sunrise so he could show us extra little things. The sunrise itself is so incredible— words can do no Justice. You must see it for yourself. It is COLD. In the 40’s but with the wind chill — I’d say 20’s??? Our fingers were freezing trying to take video and pictures. Take gloves!!!! Layers. You can remove them as you get down the mountain. So worth it.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Special Offer
No Photo
Haleakala Sunrise Tour - Welcome! Maui is Open


10 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Haleakala, Iao Valley & More - Welcome! Maui is Open


9 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Haleakala National Park with Breakfast SOUTH SIDE Pickup


8 to 9 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Whale Watching Cruise with Open Bar from Ka'anapali Beach


2 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do