Shore Excursion: 4-Hour Discover Hawkes Bay and Napier Tour

Napier, New Zealand
Shore Excursion Half Day Hawkes Bay and Napier Tour

From US$70.10

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover the rural beauty of Hawkes Bay and Napier’s Art Deco architecture on a half-day shore excursion from Napier. You’ll see a scenic landscape of orchards, vineyards, and pasture, and enjoy dramatic views of Te Mata Peak. Next, step back in time in Napier’s historic neighborhoods, where you’ll see perfectly-preserved Art Deco architecture that dates back to the 1930s and 1940s. With all transport by climate-controlled coach or minivan, this Napier shore excursion is the perfect introduction to the Hawke’s Bay region.
  • See Hawke's Bay rural landscape and urban architecture
  • Pre-book a shore excursion to save time
  • Great overview and orientation of the city
  • Ideal choice for families
  • Pickup and drop-off at an easy-to-reach shuttle stop

What's Included

  • Local guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan or small coach (20 seats)
  • Bottled water
  • Fruit
  • Small souvenir
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Any other private purchases on the day not outlined in the itinerary

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • National Aquarium of New Zealand
    546 Marine Parade, Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand

Pickup point

  • Napier

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 10/1/2016 - 5/31/2030

    Monday - Thursday : 12:00 AM - 07:00 PM

    Friday - Saturday : 12:00 AM - 07:00 AM

    Sunday : 12:00 AM - 07:00 PM

End point

  • 70 Marine Parade
    70 Marine Parade, Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand

    The Ships Shuttle pickup location on the day. You will also have the opportunity depart the tour in the City Centre to shop before catching the Shuttle back, time permitting.

Pickup details

Your tour starts at the FINAL SHUTTLE STOP on the day. Generally this is the Napier Aquarium and on occasion (generally smaller ships) it maybe the Visitor Centre. We will always be at the FINAL SHUTTLE STOP for you.

What To Expect

Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels maybe accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark; Please advise at time of booking. Subject to storage space
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • A minimum of 2 people per tour is required - single travellers please enquire
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


51 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews
A slow drive around town
Catherine_O, Mar 2023
This tour was 2/3’s looking at buildings and houses. Through open doors and looking into windows at art deco lights. We spent only 1/3 of the time on the countryside and I was extremely bored looking only at “lines” on buildings. I would only recommend this tour to someone interested at snail paced travel by car and pulling over to the sides of roads to look into windows. The tour began with 20 minutes sitting in the van while a pamphlet was gone through at an agonizing pace. We had already read the entire pamphlet prior to traveling 100 feet and pulling over. Beautiful homes and art deco but there was way too much time spent looking at all the architecture for me.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi Catherine, Thank you for your review. The tour is a 50:50 Country and Napier Art Deco tour. As you are aware, we are forced at present to make changes to the countryside tour times due to the Cyclone that hit us a few weeks back. We were still in a state of emergency at the time you took your tour. We have always been complimented with the info/background book in the past. Yes, you may have sat in the van for 20 minutes, the tour is advertised to start at 30 minutes, so I am glad you did have that earlier start. Most people that arrive to Napier and take our tours have no idea as to what art deco actually is. The purpose of this part is to illustrate exactly what it is (partly during our book presentation) and along the way. Any and every home that we may say "look at this or that", we have personally approached and have their blessing to look at their home(s). I am sorry this was not the tour for you, however, it is the biggest selling pre-booked tour in Napier. Contact me for a chat if you wish, I am always happy to hear about your tour. - John
Very sad
Wendy_C, Mar 2023
This tour was quite boring. Due to the cyclone that had hit Napier at least one of the roads we were due to use was cut off so the driver apparently tried to fill the 4 hour tour duration by driving round the streets to show us what felt like every art deco building available. A better option in my view would have been to just drop us early and let us wander through the main street. In fact some of the clients asked to be dropped off early and it was only afterwards that those who continued with the driver got to a scenic viewing point.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi Wendy, thank you for taking the time to review your tour. Personally I take pride in any tour my staff or myself take. For those reading this review, as noted above, a huge Cyclone had hit Napier, just weeks earlier the river we need to cross to complete a huge portion of this tour had 4 of 6 bridges washed away, thousands of people displaced, hundreds of homes and local communities still today uninhabitable. We need to judge our times across the existing bridges to avoid long queues and hold ups to make you late back. We are doing our best to show you as much of the area we can under very difficult circumstances. - John
Paul_D, Feb 2023
Napier was a very beautiful place to visit. This tour shows you all the best highlights of the area and gives you a nice overview.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi Paul_D, thank you for your lovely review. Yes, Napier is a lovely place and we are so proud to offer visitors the opportunity to see our region. Regards, John
Great tour!
Susan_Z, Feb 2023
Wonderful way to spend our port time. Saw a lot and learned a lot. Small group was great for stopping many times for photos. Our guide, Kirsty, was great! Very enjoyable!!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hi Susan_Z, thank you for a fantastic review. We are so lucky to have great driver / guides. Our cruise ship itineraries are time proven (19 years) and we dare not change them. Thank you again. - John
A very attentive and knowledgeable guide and driver
Antoinette_M, Mar 2020
A wonderful experience in a beautiful country. We were driven to the most interesting places. Highly recommended.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Hi Antoine: Thank you for taking time to review your Napier Shore Excursion, the Discover Hawkes Bay Tour. Yes, I actually love that tour myself. I have been taking that same route for 15 years and it is still my favourite route in the area. "Absolutely" the best overview tour of the area in the short time you have ashore here in Napier. Thank you again .. John
Very Good.
Wing_L, Feb 2020
The driver/guide Mike was excellent. There was some time after the tour for us to walk around Napier a bit.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Hi Wing L: Thank you for your great review of your Napier shore excursion, the Discover Hawkes Bay Tour. Mike has been a valued part of our team for many years.. Thanks again for your review it is appreciated. - John
Anil_D, Jan 2020
Excellent guide, flexibility, information, friendliness. An excellent customer experience in every aspect. Highly recommended to internet browsers to find a shore excursion
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hi Aniljdes: Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your tour. These are much appreciated. We do pride ourselves on the hundreds of fantastic reviews like yours that we receive and thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts for others. - Thank you again, John
Fantastic holiday experience
Kevin_G, Jan 2020
We had fantastic half day experience. The driver took us around hawks bay we did over 100km and could see the beautiful scenery of NZ. Thank you
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hi Happin: Thank you for your great review of your shore excursion tour. We are extremely proud of our tours and love the feedback to confirm we are meeting our clients expectations - John
Mike was great!
Terence_L, Dec 2018
Mike was great fun and a great singer too! Nice to spend time with someone with real local insight. We sat in front and had great conversation, questions, and answers about the wide variety of areas, towns, and sights on this tour. Highly recommended. Really liked the trip to the top of the mountain park!
Most BORING tour I’ve ever taken
Mary_A, Dec 2018
We could not wait til it was over so we could do something worthwhile...we always like to learn something new about the place we are visiting...learned absolutely nothing...I could have given a more colorful is a sheep ..there’s a sheep...oh usually there are deer here ...not today...went the Hawke’s Bay tour....boring....when people asked questions the driver did not answer...I give it 1 star as we did drive down a street of Art Deco houses....forgot souvenir til we mentioned it...the bus needs to have glass ceiling as he mentioned ziggaret roof lines at last second but we couldn’t see them from the van...we were never let out of van to see things except at top of hill when it was raining and wind blowing...or for a rest room break....when it was over he did not help people from van even though 1 woman had a cane....
Nice tour of Hawkes Bay and...
StanleyF_E, May 2018
Nice tour of Hawkes Bay and Napier. We still had plenty of time to explore Napier on our own. Option to drop you off at numerous locations in the city upon completion of the tour was really appreciated..
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi Kathy E: thank you for taking the time to write your great review of our services. Wee have been taking these tours for many years and we think we have a great understanding of what is expected of us. Yes, it is your day here in our City so we try to offer you the very best suggestions to see the finer points of the City when the tour is completed. I am really pleased the tour meet your expectations on the day. - John
We were on a cruise and the schedule...
Barrie_S, Apr 2018
We were on a cruise and the schedule changed due to the weather and sea conditions. The tour company were aware and were very good at rearranging the shore excursion. Napier was a pretty art-deco town with lots of great building and history. Our guide was very knowledgeable, however, he was not the most upbeat of guides and didn't actually introduce himself to us at any stage. There were only about 10 people on the bus but there was no 'buzz'. He was able to tell us a lot of the history of the area despite being from England and he obviously had a passion for architecture, however, the mini-bus we travelled in was not suitable for the tour. Almost everything the guide described as we went around the town required us to be able to look upwards but the restricted view in the vehicle meant we could not see half of what was being described. The only part of the tour that we really enjoyed was the visit to Te Mata Peak, stunning views.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi Bstevens: Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. I fully understand your comments about looking up from a van... any van or coach. Apart from an open top vehicle, really nothing else compares. This is why you have the fully explanation of Art Deco and we encourage you all to depart in the City and walk about 100 metres back to the shuttle to get those fantastic photos that you only get from outside a vehicle. As Napier is always the shortest shore visit on any ship arrival, we do the very best we can to show you the most we can on the day. Again, I thank you for your comments. - John
The tour went without a snag. Very...
Meinrado_A, Apr 2018
The tour went without a snag. Very knowledgeable tour guide/driver.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi Mcapuya: thank you for your brief comments..often less is more, and I thank you. - Regards John
Great informative triip, very good...
William C, Mar 2018
Great informative triip, very good value for money
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi William C: thank you for taking the time to write a great review. Thank you - John
Beautiful countryside. Enjoyed the...
Steve B, Mar 2018
Beautiful countryside. Enjoyed the tour a lot and would recommend it to anyone.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi Steve B: thank you for your fantastic recommendation for others to take our Shore Excursion, Discover Hawkes Bay Tour. Your recommendation is appreciated. - John
Excellent tour guide. Napier was...
James T, Mar 2018
Excellent tour guide. Napier was amazing. Beautiful scenery, especially from the Mt. top.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi James T: thank you for your fantastic review. Yes, we are very proud of our City and Countryside and are always pleased to be asked to show it off to visitors like yourself. - John
I cannot rate this tour as our...
Rosemary_P, Mar 2018
I cannot rate this tour as our Captain could not moor our ship into this port so as we did not get ashore we missed our tour.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi Rose3: Oooouch.. 1 star. I am sorry your ship was unable to dock in Napier. I was looking forward to delivering you a 5 star tour. Do consider us again for a local tour if you are ever back in Napier in the future. - John
Truly an enjoyable trip with great...
Kerry O, Mar 2018
Truly an enjoyable trip with great sightseeing thru the wine region and up to the highest point possible. Then back to Napier to view the Art Deco buildings , the driver was totally engrossed in his knowledge of the earthquake of 1931 and the aftermath that resulted in the building of the Art Deco style of architecture.
This was a great tour. We were on a...
Kathryn P, Mar 2018
This was a great tour. We were on a cruise and booked the tour through Viator. We had no problem locating the tour operator and found the tour to be very informative, enjoyable, scenic and our guide was very knowledgeable, especially in relation to Napiers Art Deco history. Kathy
This is a delightful small group 10...
Chuck H, Mar 2018
This is a delightful small group 10 folks tour of Hawkes Bay including vineyards, orchards, Tuki Tuki River, and Te Mata peak and Napier both residential and downtown Art Deco buildings. John and Maggie go out of their way to make you feel at home. Highly recommended!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Shore Excursion: 4-Hour Discover Hawkes Bay and Napier Tour


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Shore Excursion: 4 Hour Premium Hawkes Bay and Napier Tour


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Shore Excursion: Scenic Rafting from Napier


5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
2.5-Hour Napier Art Deco Tour


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do