Small Group Grand Canyon National Park Day Tour from Phoenix

Phoenix, United States
Small Group Grand Canyon National Park Day Tour

From US$199.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • All Fees and Taxes
    • Unlimited bottled water
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Food
    • Gratuities

    Meeting And Pickup

    You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

    Meeting point

    • Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley
      2550 W Charlotte Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85085, USA

      This is a guaranteed pick up location, however, please let the supplier know as soon as possible if you are NOT staying here, as they may have a closer meet location for you.

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    Start time

    Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

    Opening hours

    • 3/1/2023 - 10/11/2024

      Monday - Sunday : 06:00 AM - 07:00 PM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Pickup details

    Please note: We do not pick up at private residences and we do not guarantee pickup for all hotels. Even if your hotel is on the list, there may be a chance you'll need to meet at an alternate location. If need be, the supplier will determine a location you can meet to be picked up for your excursion. Tour supplier contact details will be provided on your pre-paid voucher.

    What To Expect

    Grand Canyon South Rim

    3 hours Admission Ticket Included

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Most travelers can participate
    • The Grand Canyon South Rim is a 7,000 foot elevation, please note this if you have concerns about elevation.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more


    17 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-4 of 17 reviews
    A Don’t Miss Tour With Detour!
    rennie_b, Aug 2023
    This was such an enjoyable experience. My tour guide was so knowledgeable about so much. He takes a lot of pride in his State. I learned quite a bit about Nevada, the vegetation and wildlife and how they preserve all of it. He had lots of stops at different views of the Grand Canyon and a stop at Sedona. The ride from the Grand Canyon into Sedona was so pretty and twisty. I highly recommend this tour. The bus had captains chairs that recline, usb plugs for your phone and lots of water provided. A small number of people made this tour so much better and more personable. He provided umbrellas as well with the unpredictable weather we had which was nice.
    Bad experience with Detours
    Yongle_L, Jul 2023
    The tour guide/driver Aldo from Detours is the worst tour guide I have ever encountered. My son and I traveled to Phoenix for a fencing tournament in beginning of July, we booked a 1 day trip to Grand Canyon with Detours on July 5th, because my son didn't have a fencing event that day. Detours told me a driver will come to our hotel to pick us up at 6:20am. In that morning, we arrived at the hotel lobby 10 mins earlier, at 6:20am, a white van arrived. I approached to the driver and politely ask him if this is the pick up for Grand Canyon tour, this is a yes or no question, right? Guess what Aldo replied, he said "When you ask someone a question, you need to say GOOD MORNING first." and he said that rudely and sounded like I offended him because I didn't say good morning first. WTF, just a simple yes or no question. I am a 42 year old man, a father of 2 kids, I don't need him to teach me how to say good morning. I was not happy, and Aldo could read it from my face. After he finally confirmed this is the van here to pick up us, we got into the van. As soon as I got in, it is hot inside, I realized he didn't turn on the AC. This is Phoenix in July, the day temperature reaches 115, it is early morning, but the temperature is still about 90. So I said: "It is hot in here", these are the exact words I said. Guess what Aldo replied, he said to me "Do you have a problem? if you don't like it here, you can get off my van and cancel your trip." I was shocked, I couldn't believe what I heard. I traveled to many places in the world, all the tour guides I met in the past were friendly and helpful. Aldo is by far the worst one, I am not joking, we had 2 conflicts within 5 mins and he was verbally aggressive. Viator website advertises this tour includes air-conditioned vehicle, I had my right to ask to turn on AC, right? I decided to shut up and not argue with Aldo after that. First reason, we paid $400 for this trip, if we walk off the van, we would not get refund back, refund policy says cancellation within 24 hours is not refundable. Second, we were in Phoenix for 6 days, my son had to fence 5 days, this was the only day we had time to go to Grand Canyon. Even if Detours finally agrees to give us a full refund, we would not have another day to book a new trip to Grand Canyon. After I stopped talking to him, Aldo had no excuse to kick me out this tour. Aldo continued on his Grand Canyon tour like a normal tour guide. He seemed to be friendly all other tourists, I wondered if this was really him, compare to the way he treated me in the morning, completely two different persons . Grand Canyon was spectacular, but I didn't have a good mood. Aldo ruined my first Grand Canyon trip, I kept thinking the incident in the morning. Next time when I go to Phoenix, I want to visit Antelope Canyon, I will make sure I don't use Detours and never see Aldo again.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    We regret that you had a less than amazing experience on your Grand Canyon tour. We know that your vacation time is precious. The experience that you had was not typical, as you can see that your tour guide has many great reviews from his past guests. I have looked into the situation with your guide to see if we can give our guests a better experience. We would like to have your out on the Antelope Canyon/Horseshoe Bend tour on your next visit. I am sure that we can leave you with a better opinion of our abilities. Thank you, Jeff
    Choose this tour and request Tracy as your guide
    Jeannie_R, Jun 2023
    From start to finish, this was an amazing, spiritually healing experience for me. The customer service was top-notch and the time we spent at the Grand Canyon was timed just right, in addition to all of the look out points we were taken to. Our lunch choices were also outstanding, if a wee bit expensive. Our tour guide/driver, Tracy, was literally a history buff and knew his stuff! So much so that he often had us spellbound about the wealth of information he shared with us, including the different species of the trees and landscapes we were soaking in as we left Phoenix and made our way to the Grand Canyon. Never would I have imagined seeing all of the verdant grass and trees that looked like broccoli tops in Arizona. Throw in a man who truly loves his job and gets as emotional as we do as we take in the splendor all around us, and you have a winning combination. In my opinion, this small group tour was worth every penny, especially when you consider that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel, was transported in a very comfortable, air conditioned (plus clean) van that also happened to have huge windows to take in the sights, as well as pictures, and you couldn't ask for more. The seats weren't bad either, and were outfitted with actual seat belts that worked! I loved the small group feel of the tour because as we stopped for bathroom breaks or stretched our legs, we also got to know our fellow passengers better without anyone holding us up by being late to the van. Having our questions answered by Tracy or Nick was also very helpful. We had nine people on this tour (including myself) and it was really nice learning about where we all came from, including a couple from Australia, one from Long Island, NY, a mom and son from So-Cal, and a couple from India who were all very friendly and compassionate to this solo traveler. On a personal note, I came on this trip to fulfil a promise that I had made to my younger brother who had died from cancer, and when I shared this with the group and Tracy (plus Nick, Tracy's shot-gun rider-in-training,) it was so touching how supportive they all were to me. And, just like Tracy whispered to me as he dropped me off at my hotel: "You did it, Jeannie!" I still get choked up whenever I think about it, and that is precisely why everyone considers Tracy one of a kind. As you consider which tour you should pick to explore the Grand Canyon, look no further than this tour company and insist that Tracy be your guide! I promise that you won't regret it. Now, give that man a raise!!! A special message to Nick: thank you for your kindness, for handing out the bottles of water when we really needed it, and assisting Tracy if he needed anything. You are going to go far as a tour guide and I am so glad that Tracy was your mentor as you begin this new journey. You and especially, Tracy, will not be forgotten for how much you honored my grief. So, thank you. Just thank you....
    Grand Canyon
    Max, Jun 2023
    Amazing time! Thank you so much Detours of the West! It was my second trip with you guys! Will go with you again! Tracy is a professional driver and guide!

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    Small Group Grand Canyon National Park Day Tour from Phoenix


    12 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Small-Group or Private Grand Canyon with Sedona Tour from Phoenix


    13 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Small Group Antelope Canyon Day Trip from Phoenix


    16 hours
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do