Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor

Roma, Italy
Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor
Likely to Sell Out

From US$88.73

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 2 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Tour the amphitheater and other sites of Ancient Rome under the atmospheric cover of darkness during this evening tour. Learn about the ruins of the Roman Forum seen from the Piazza del Campidoglio, and enter the Colosseum after the daytime crowds have disappeared and the temperature has dropped.
  • Sightsee in the cooler evening temperatures and see Rome’s top attractions without the busy daytime crowds.
  • Walk around the Colosseum’s reconstructed arena floor, in the space where gladiator battles were fought.
  • Admire recently discovered graffiti dating back to the late Middle Ages.
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 20 people.

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

See the Colosseum—including typically off-limits areas—after dark, when crowds disperse and temps drop.

What's Included

  • Local expert guide
  • Skip-the-Line Access to the Colosseum including the Arena Floor
  • Small groups of 20 people or fewer
  • Roman Forum is seen from the outside only
  • Colosseum Entry ticket with Arena (€23.60)
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Trajan's Column
    Via dei Fori Imperiali, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    The tour starts on the platform directly in front of Trajan’s Column: located on Via dei Fori Imperiali near Piazza Venezia. Standing right in front and facing the Victor Emmanuel II Monument, it’s directly to the left across the street. The guide will be waiting there wearing a blue polo shirt.

End point

  • Colosseum
    Piazza del Colosseo, 1, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Colonna Traiana

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Roman Forum

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included


1 hour 20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Avoid bringing large purses, bags, or backpacks on your tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate guest below 6 years old due to venue security reason.
  • Due to Colosseum security regulations, a PASSPORT OR VALID ID DOCUMENT IS MANDATORY to join this tour
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. Every customer is required to carry a valid ID that matches the name on the ticket, or an entry will be refused. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed
  • Due to the fact that Colosseum by Night at 19:30 or later includes Underground entry tickets, which must be purchased using the full name of each passenger and cannot be modified or cancelled, no refund will be given for any tour cancellation once the tickets are purchased on the passengers’ behalf.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    There are stairs and lots of walking so the requirement of moderate fitness by the tour operator is accurate.
    Honestly, it's a good tour, but go during the day.
    The Colosseum at night is lovely, and the underground and arena floor is a must.


    823 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 823 reviews
    Down then Up Up!
    TracyW_R, Sept 2023
    Didn’t happen. Was canceled 5-days before. Schedule to an afternoon tour. WHICH WAS GREAT!! 1-star for cancelation & refund, 5-stars for afternoon tour. SUPER GUIDE!!
    Be careful on booking dates
    Elizabeth_M, Sept 2023
    I had an issue booking this tour where the date reverted to the first available not the one I selected so we weren’t even in Rome on the tour date unfortunately and there was no alternative available during our 5 day stay the week after the date booked for ti move it to (for a small fee) and the company wouldn’t let us move it to another tour as the date booked for (the date it defaulted to) was the day after booking it so under 24 hrs.
    Extremely disappointed
    Brian_M, Sept 2023
    Viator needs to up their digital game. I added ticket to my apple wallet. The Viator tickets downloaded to my wallet did not include any information about the meeting place. Therefore we missed the tour because I had no idea of the meeting place. I would not recommend Viator to anyone else traveling
    So friendly and fun
    Lubaina_C, Sept 2023
    Such a great tour with City Wonders! We arrived late yet they still accommodated us all and made us feel so welcome even though we were meant to be with another group! Would definitely visit again!
    Not worth it
    Sabrina_V, Sept 2023
    Our tour guide didn’t meet us or wait for us at the meeting point. My family caught up with our group inside after spending extra money to enter the Colliseum. We tried to join our original group but the tour guide was rude, unhelpful and refused to speak to us. Another employee of City Wonders overheard and helped us by calling the head office. Overall, not impressed. Not worth it.
    Response from Host, Sept 2023
    Hi Sabrina_V, We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we deeply regret any inconvenience you may have encountered. First and foremost, we're sorry to hear that your tour guide didn't meet you at the designated meeting point. We understand that this caused unnecessary frustration and expense as you had to purchase additional tickets to enter the Colosseum. Please know that this is not the standard of service we aim to provide. We would like to offer an explanation regarding our check-in policy. We request that our customers arrive at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to the tour's scheduled start time for the check-in process. This is not only to ensure the punctuality and quality of our tours but also for safety reasons. Once the tour has commenced and the group has entered the attraction, it can be challenging and potentially unsafe for our guides to admit late arrivals. However, we understand that there may have been a misunderstanding or exceptional circumstances in your case. It is never our intention to inconvenience our guests. We also deeply regret the reported rudeness and unhelpfulness of the tour guide you encountered inside the Colosseum. This behavior is not in line with our standards of customer service, and we will address this matter with the guide involved. We appreciate your patience and commend the other City Wonders employee who assisted you by calling the head office. We are grateful for their intervention in resolving the situation. Your feedback helps us improve our services, and we hope that this isolated incident does not deter you from considering City Wonders for future tours. We are committed to delivering exceptional experiences, and we value your trust. Thank you for your understanding. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Amazing tour
    Anette_i, Aug 2023
    The guide was extremely knowledgeable and the tour was comprehensive but not so fast paced that you couldn’t stop and take pictures or enjoy the magnificent surroundings! Would highly recommend!
    Great tour guide, but too many people in a very hot day.
    GUSTAVOA_S, Aug 2023
    Great tour guide, but too many people in a very hot day. I recomend to choose a different season for this tour
    Michael_S, Aug 2023
    Guide did not do the tour because he didn’t have enough tickets He was short 6 tickets Never saw the colosseum Please give me a refund
    Rome trip
    Garywilding, Aug 2023
    Great guided tour, pace was good and the guide had excellent knowledge, to bring the history to life.
    Better or more accurate map directions needed on the app
    Fernando_O, Aug 2023
    I’m very disappointed with the setup meeting location. I followed the app directions on maps which doesn’t correspond to the written directions and we were there 10 minutes early so we would be there in time. Unfortunately the directions were different and I could not contact the person or tour guide
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Hello Fernando_O, We highly encourage you to reach out to our dedicated customer service team at While we diligently ensure the accuracy of our meeting points, we take feedback seriously. In case of any potential discrepancy, we will thoroughly investigate the matter. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to address this situation promptly. Your experience matters to us. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Breathtaking and insightful tour.
    Martin_H, Aug 2023
    Fantastic tour by Carlo from CityWonders. He even slowed the tour group so one of my children could use the bathroom. Very informative and breathtaking. I’m glad we did the 5pm tour. Great way to end all tours for the day with a nice dinner nearby.
    Much cooler than morning / day tour
    Ren_M, Jul 2023
    The arena floor and the higher levels were much better vantage points, well worth the extra spend in a summer where everywhere is crowded. Our tour guide was very detailed, interesting and informative. The evening tour was much cooler and less crowded. I recommend it over a day / morning tour.
    Would do this again
    Jamie_D, Jul 2023
    Our tour guide Manuela was magnificent. She was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. It was a bit hot but she kept us moving quickly so we were melting. Definitely would recommend for families with kids and teens
    Wonderful guide and a great way to see the colosseum!
    Tara_G, Jul 2023
    Great way to see the colosseum! Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided great information and history about the colosseum.
    Awful, terrible, horrible lack of accurate direction and communication.
    James_M, Jul 2023
    Terrible experience. If I could give zero stars I would. Viator gave us 1 address and when we couldn’t find our group the city wonders company gave us a different address but the group was not at that address either. We called city wonders and the tour guide knew we were looking for them and she did not wait on us and took the tour without us. We paid for the tour but because of terrible communication and incorrect addresses for meeting points we did not get to go on the tour and had to stay outside.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    Hello James_M, We apologize for the experience you had with your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. We understand your frustration and disappointment, and we want to address the issues you encountered with the meeting point and communication. Firstly, we would like to assure you that all our meeting points are correct, and our coordinators strive to be as visible as possible to assist our guests. We apologize if there was any confusion or discrepancy with the address provided by Viator. We appreciate your feedback and will investigate this matter to ensure that such issues are rectified. We deeply regret the miscommunication that occurred when you called City Wonders and the tour guide proceeded without waiting for you. This behavior does not align with our standard of service, and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We understand the disappointment of not being able to join the tour despite having paid for it. To further investigate and address this matter, we kindly request that you please reach out to us via email at, providing your booking reference number. This will allow us to thoroughly investigate the situation and take appropriate action to prevent such incidents in the future. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced. We appreciate your feedback, and we value your patronage. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a seamless and enjoyable tour experience. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Colosseum Tour
    Adette_L, Jul 2023
    Guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We were a group of Girl Guides from Canada. Our travellers were all teenagers and found the tour interesting.
    Pamela_F, Jul 2023
    I was very disappointed. I did this tour several years ago and loved it! We met at 7:00pm, walked to the Colosseum with frequent and humorous commentary from our guide about the history along the way. We went inside the Colosseum after it was closed to the public, very few people, cooler temps. We stood on the floor of the Colosseum in the moonlight, just our group! It was amazing! This tour was very different! In the heat of the day, we met at 5:00pm, didn’t even stop anywhere along the way to the Colosseum, where we were met with huge crowds, totally crowded entrances, and many groups doing the same thing we were. No comparison between the two. Our guide was knowledgeable but spoke very fast, difficult sometimes to understand. I actually had to tell her once to stop because some of our group wasn’t even through security and she was walking ahead. I recommended this tour to my friends and felt bad that it was so different. You really need to go back to the after-7 tours to make it worth the money.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    Hello Pamela_F, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your feedback regarding the Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. We appreciate your honest review and we understand your disappointment with the changes in the tour compared to your previous experience. We sincerely apologize for the differences you encountered in terms of the timing, crowd size, and overall atmosphere. We value your recommendation and assure you that we are committed to delivering high-quality experiences. Your feedback will be shared with our team, and we will take it into consideration as we strive to improve and bring back the magic of the after-7 tours. Thank you for your continued support and for sharing your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more perfect experience in the future with us at City Wonders. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders Feel free to follow City Wonders and Viator Travel on social media to stay connected with our travel experiences. Facebook: City Wonders Twitter: @City_Wonders Instagram: citywonderstours TikTok: city.wonders
    Helen_W, Jul 2023
    Booked a tour with 20 people or less, nearly 40 people. Only word to describe the tour was “chaos” Carlos was a lovely guy, extremely knowledgeable, however, he was often interrupted and the tour was unmanageable, such a shame.
    Switcharoo Did Not Deliver
    Shay_H, Jul 2023
    Two days prior to the tour we got an email saying they couldn’t fulfill our trip which was booked months earlier. Too late to find an alternative, we accepted the day tour, with no access to the arena floor. It was a fine tour. The guide was average. It wasn’t what we had booked. Classic case of either bait and switch or over-promise and under-deliver.
    Pretty Good
    Michelle_W, Jun 2023
    Took the 5pm tour today, it was by no means “night” it was still broad daylight. However once we found our guide ( be sure to leave heaps of time to find the spot) the tour was very informative. Despite the stifling heat it was a pleasant hour and a half walking tour. Would recommend as we went inside and on the arena floor. Very interesting tour

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor


    2 hours
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do