Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Deluxe small group Cruise Day Tour, Rotorua, Tauranga & Mt Maunganui highlights

Badge of ExcellenceMount Maunganui, New Zealand

From US$127.50

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 to 8 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Easily explore the area outside the Port of Tauranga during this guided tour that includes port pickup and drop-off. First visit a New Zealand kiwi orchard, and get the chance to taste the native fruit yourself. Catch sight of natural wonders such as Okere Falls, Blue Lake, and Whakarewarewa Forest before going to taste New Zealand honey at a local farm (time permitting).
  • Rotorua sightseeing tour from the Port of Tauranga
  • See sights of Okere Falls and Blue Lake
  • Walk through the redwoods at the Whakarewarewa Forest
  • Take in views of Mt. Maunganui along the way
  • Ride comfortably in a climate-controlled vehicle
  • Port pickup and drop-off is included

What's Included

  • Port pick-up and drop-off
  • Guide
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Lunch
  • Entrance fees

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • 2 Salisbury Avenue
    2 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand

    Directly outside Port security gate

Pickup point

  • Port of Tauranga

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Generally we will greet you just after you've exited the Port customs gate close to your berth. If you've booked with us, and we haven't connected after you've exited the port customs gate, please meander 100 m down to Soul Bowl Cafe on the roundabout opposite Burger King and we will collect you from there.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Tips


Lunch was included and I would say it was just OK. Would have liked to have had 10-15 minutes in the gift shop in the village but was told we could not do this.
Reviews
4.5
36 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
The whole day was...
Julie_W, Jan 2023
The whole day was memorable, and although we have toured in this area before, this was a much better tour. It was relaxed, informative and allowed us to see the best of Rotorua. Our driver Kerry was friendly and very approachable and shared his vast store of information and experience of this wonderful region.
Perfect day, easy and stress free
Erin_T, Dec 2022
My husband, young toddler and I had a tour booked with Toby and we had a fantastic day. We were collected directly from the cruise port which was super easy. We were well looked after and were also grateful that Toby was able to drop us off at the mineral pools at Polynesian Day Spa in Rotorua which is something we had been wanting to do for a long time. We were able to enjoy a few hours of relaxation time there before joining back with the tour van. Tauranga and Rotorua are beautiful places to visit. We highly recommend this tour.
Small group tour
Patrick_B, Mar 2020
This tour was a great experience. Terry, our guide on this tour really made that experience. I would highly recommend this small group tour to anyone visiting New Zealand.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi Patrick, Thank you for your compliments. I will pass them on to Kerry. He is an entertaining authentic Kiwi man....we love his dry humour expressed through his, as he calls it, "made for radio" voice. Covid-19 has had an unimaginable impact on our business (amongst 1000's of others) as of March 13, but New Zealand Govt has implemented some very good policies to stem the spread of this pandemic ....we can't for see when we will be up and operating again but we hope it is as soon as it is safe for everyone. We hope you made it home to England safe and you remain that way. Toby
Tauranga excursion
Avril_L, Feb 2020
We had a great trip with Tony, our Tour Guide. He took us to various points of interest including the Kiwi Farm, then on to Rotorua and the Maori village and back to Tauranga sharing information on the way. Our lunch stop was great- a café with a good menu and prices. All in all a great day out
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you. We aspire to give every one of our customers an enjoyable, informative and comfortable tour, as well as sometimes with light entertainment. Tony is a complete gentleman.
Enjoyable tour
Lanee_W, Apr 2019
Was an enjoyable tour. Especially enjoyed the Mauri village. Lunch was included and I would say it was just OK. Would have liked to have had 10-15 minutes in the gift shop in the village but was told we could not do this.
Response from Host, May 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review its a great to hear you enjoyed your day help to others . Sorry you missed the gift store we certainly try and include some shopping and that day we were tight for time regards Roger
Tauranga and Rotorua Sightseeing Tour
Darlene_D, Mar 2019
AWESOME tour and OUTSTANDING guide Kerry. Kerry made it most enjoyable. Very knowledgeable. Have booked all our tours on Viator and they have been excellent.
Response from Host, May 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review its a great to hear you enjoyed your day help to others . regards Roger
Roger was a knowledgeable and...
Janet W, Feb 2018
Roger was a knowledgeable and humorous guide and an excellent driver. He went out of his way to meet the sightseeing priorities of all guests. Eight of the 10 guests were from our ship berthed in Tauranga. Unfortunately, and unknown to Roger, the remaining 2 were actually staying in Rotorua, which meant a lot of back-tracking which meant our tour took about 2 hours longer than planned. Credit to Roger, he was determined that the couple in Rotorua missed nothing. If you are on a cruise ship, we think Roger offers a personalised small group tour at a far better price than the much larger group shore excursions available on-board.
Response from Host, May 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review its a great to hear you enjoyed your day help to others . regards Roger
The day was certainly a full one...
Lucia_H, Feb 2018
The day was certainly a full one. Our driver, Ross, was very competent, and was able to answer almost every question asked of him. He first took us to a kiwi orchard and explained the growing process. Amazing to see so many of them on the vines. We also were able to taste both kinds, the green as well as the yellow. We then stopped to see a beautiful waterfall Okere Falls, then on to several beautiful lakes. We also visited a Mauri village, and watched several people practicing their ritual dances. Next was a park w/Rachel Springs and others - smoking and bubbling their Sulphur gases. And at the end, we drove to the top of a small mountain to capture the view of Tauranga. A great day, very professional handled!
Response from Host, May 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review its a great to hear you enjoyed your day help to others . regards Roger
Our tour guide, Mark from Arrow...
steve_k, Feb 2018
Our tour guide, Mark from Arrow Tours was OUTSTANDING!!!! He was fun to be with, very accommodating and extremely knowledgeable about the areas we toured. We had an amazing tour of the mountain, local tribe, geysers, waterfall, kiwi farm and enjoyed the spectacular views along our drive. We can't wait to go back! Steve and Barbie Kram
Response from Host, May 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review its a great to hear you enjoyed your day help to others . regards Roger
had a fantastic day! our driver...
Peter U, Jan 2018
had a fantastic day! our driver tour operator was friendly, efficient, knowlegable and went out of his way by returning to the geysers so we could see them erupting properly - fantastic photo opportunity.That was the main thing we wanted to see on this tour We were picked up at Tauranga Port as planned on time. We did have to wait a while for a few stragglers who took their time getting off our cruise ship, but this was not the companies fault. It was the highlight tour of our trip to New Zealand and would highly recommend this company,
We thoroughly enjoyed Rotorua, the...
Nicholas M, Dec 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed Rotorua, the Maori display and the volcanic activity. WE enjoyed the Kiwi farm as well.Despite the lack of information which I requested before the trip everything went well.The mini bus was waiting on the dockside as on the paperwork, but I was concerned without clear information beforehand and I had to complain to Viator that an email I had sent was not responded to.
Excellent tour for the money. Small...
Chas M, Dec 2017
Excellent tour for the money. Small group tour of 12 people 6 couples, easy to hop on and hop off the van to see things, everyone returned back to the van on time.Roger was our guide, he is very knowledgeable. He stopped in many places and let us to get off the van to see things and take pictures. We paid extra NZ25 to see Maori Cultural Experience, it was very nice to experience NZ culture. Roger managed our tour time quite time. It was full 7 hours tour and we had great time.We also loved our kiwifruits farm visit as well. Highly recommend this tour to those cruisers visiting Tauranga.
The tour guide Roger was excellent...
Aspo, Dec 2017
The tour guide Roger was excellent and took many opportunities to stop and share his local knowledge of the area. Is a must for all travellers visiting the area and is well worth paying the extra 25 per person for the Maori Cultural Experience, which was one of the highlights of our cruise holiday.
Kerry tour guide very good. Mt...
pat, Nov 2017
Kerry tour guide very good. Mt Maunganui beach beautiful, Kiwi farm and fruit and juice tasting excellent. Blue Lake, and Green Lake gorgeous. Maori buildings and church on the lake lovely. Redwood forest nice. Half of the group went to culture center, the rest were taken to small mud pools and a ride through the countryside. Wasted time driving around waiting for others to finish at culture center. Lunch at Lakeside beautiful area- too rushed. Take the rest back to that lake or go to other mud pools that we passed.
Response from Host, May 2022
Kerry is still with the new business thankfully, a valuable asset to our team and nominated for Tour Driver of the Year
This was not our favorite tour. The...
jcby54, Jul 2017
This was not our favorite tour. The guide was very tired and really didn't put much effort into the tour.
Response from Host, May 2022
Toby the new owner since 2020 and Kerry his full of beans sidekick will be attentive, informative, entertaining and enthusiastic but definitely not tired.
Roger is the owner of this small...
Timothy_D, May 2017
Roger is the owner of this small tour company. He has 2 vans with 11 passengers each. Very intimate and very interesting. When he is not driving the van, he is working on a kiwi plantation. So when we stopped at a plantation, he provided a very indepth story of the growing and harvesting of kiwi's. When we went to the geyser, he did not take us to the public site but used the back entrance to a small hotel that backs up to the geyser park where we had a different view all to ourselves. He was very personal and explained things about the area during the entire tour.
Viator gave us excellent paperwork...
Helen_H, Apr 2017
Viator gave us excellent paperwork so that the tour operator was waiting for us just outside the port terminal. Unfortunately it is quite a way to walk to get outside the port terminal and with my parents being elderly was bit too much. The tour operator was great, vehicle very comfortable and modern small 12 seater. We saw some amazing places,Mt Manganuia, Blue Lake, The Redwood forest, a Kiwi fruit plantation, Rotorua's mudpools and the Geyser, took the Gondola ride to get an amazing view of Rotorua Would highly recommend this tour Helen, NSW AUS
Prepare for an up sell. There were 3...
David_M, Mar 2017
Prepare for an up sell. There were 3 different tours on the same bus. We walked thru a motel to look over their back fence to see the geyser a quarter mile away.
Response from Host, May 2022
Toby the new owner (not Roger the old one) since 2020 will ensure you fully enjoy your day and are not pressured into doing extra activities, although these may be offered if we have ample time.
We had a great tour with Roger of...
Joan_H, Feb 2017
We had a great tour with Roger of Arrow Tours. He was a humorous, friendly character who is a local and knows the area well and gave us much information. After viewing Mount Maunganui and a kiwi fruit orchard, we saw many sights of the area like the redwood forests, but our favorite was Okere Falls, where we saw kayakers and rafters maneuvering on some challenging falls, and the geothermal mud pools bubbling along with the famous Pohutu Geyser. We did not see the Maori Village, but I guess we were supposed to pay an extra 25pp and then we may have missed seeing the special mud pool/geyser private viewing that we enjoyed so much. We did see the beautiful gardens near the Rotorua Museum and government buildings, but could not go inside the museum due to the recent damage from the earthquake. The 6 1/2 hours were well spent on this tour where we were picked up and dropped off at the port.
Excellent local guide. Superb...
George_M, Jan 2017
Excellent local guide. Superb experience. Real New Zealand. Got the chance to also visit the Maori settlement - authentic and a once in a lifetime experience. From seeing kiwi fruit production to waterfalls, mud baths and redwood forest all marvellous. Much more cost effective than cruise tours on offer.