Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Rotorua Geothermal Living Maori Village Tour Whakarewarewa 6.5hours Tour

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

From US$125.79

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

    What's Included

    • Experienced professional guide
    • Port pickup and drop-off
    • Maori cultural performance
    • FREE HANGI LUNCH
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Personal expenses

    Meeting And Pickup

    You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

    Meeting point

    • 4 Salisbury Avenue
      4 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand

      The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.

    Pickup point

    • Tauranga New Zealand

    Start time

    Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

    Opening hours

    • 6/1/2022 - 5/31/2023

      Monday - Sunday : 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    • 6/1/2023 - 5/31/2024

      Monday - Sunday : 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Pickup details

    The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • You must provide your own infant/child seat if required
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
    • Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures. You will be notified at time of booking Please check your emails to confirm tour departure times. This will over ride the time printed on the vouchrt
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Please check in with us 15 minutes prior to the departure time we advise you.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips


    It was so much cheaper, but better than what the cruise ship’s excursions provide.
    The village, dancers, geysers and extra stops made this well worth it.
    Reviews
    4.5
    52 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews
    Top of the list
    John_H, Jan 2023
    Maori guide walked us through his village and answered everyone’s questions, learned so much about Maori culture. Never felt rushed. Loved seeing the geothermal pools.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for the great review, Rotorua is such a unique place. Regards Ian
    Unique Experience
    Steve_P, Jan 2023
    We found the village and geothermal features to be fascinating! We highly recommend this to anyone. The redwoods were beautiful but less interesting since we've seen them in California.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for the great review. The Redwoods are pretty awesome and given they are only about 100 years old very impressive.
    Everything. Driver was...
    Theresa_C, Jan 2023
    Everything. Driver was very knowledgeable. Love the village and show. Thermal springs were interesting. Falls were beautiful.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Its is our most popular tour for good reason. Regards ian
    Maori villate Tour
    Ellen_G, Dec 2022
    The concert in the Maori village was fabulous! Even though there was a torrential downpour going on the performers were wonderful. Our tour guide to the village and our tour guide in the village were both very good though, unfortunately, due to the rain we were not able to visit everything that you normally would see on this tour. But the concert absolutely saved the day.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for your positive review despite the aweful weather on this day. Regards Ian
    What an Experience -- even in the heavy rain!!!!!
    Sandra_S, Dec 2022
    Unfortunately, it rained like cats and dogs that entire day. However, the local guide was still able to guide us to most of the area, including the geo-thermal pits. But just raining too much to see the living village. The performance, while somewhat open (we had a roof but the sides were open), did get a bit chilly and it rained so hard the singers really had to belt out their songs and stomping -- but it was still great And did I mention that we had lunch served to us that had been cooked in the geo-thermal pits? Overall, a fantastic experience even with the thunderstorms and heavy rainfall. Think what it would be like with no rain? Go for it whatever the weather.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Thanks for your kind comments, we cant do much about the weather and so pleased you still enjoyed the trip, regards Ian
    Highly recommend!!!!!
    Stacey_V, Dec 2022
    I would like to give a shout out to our driver (who was amazing, and who did everything in his power to make sure everyone was happy, including adding additional stops to our trip) as well as to the Maori who invited us into their home, and made us feel so very very welcome!!! I highly recommend this adventure!!!!
    Thoroughly recommend
    Suzanne_T, Nov 2022
    Totally recommend this tour. The tour operators were well organised and very knowledgeable. We had Brian and Charlie looking after us and they did a fantastic job. The village was great, from seeing the thermal areas to the guide, the performers and everyone involved. We learnt a lot about the Māori culture and living at Rotorua.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for your kind comments, we love showing clients the amazing sights of Rotorua.
    A fabulous tour of a Māori village
    Bonnie_S, Nov 2022
    The whole tour was fascinating. We felt privileged to be able to have a glimpse into their village and Māori life.
    The show was our highlight
    Mary_M, Feb 2020
    I thought the tour was very interesting but, was a bit disappointed that we were unable to see the food actually being cooked as mentioned on your website when booking.
    Response from Host, Feb 2020
    As part of the guided tour you take at the living Maori village, the guides do show you the Hangi and steam box where the food that you get to enjoy for lunch as part of the tour. You also see the boiling pool where the corn is cooked. So i am not sure why you think that you missed anything. We do exactly what the tour description says. Regards Ian
    A unique cultural experience
    Suzanne_S, Feb 2020
    Wonderful experience of a living Maori geothermal village. Amazing - not to be missed. The only disappointment was we wished we had stayed for some time in Rotorua town.
    Response from Host, Feb 2020
    Thanks for the feedback, the tours are timed to run for around 6.5 hours and in that time we show you as much as we can without making the tour seem too rushed. We do have longer tours [at more cost] that let you see and do more. Maybe one of these would have been a better option. We also need to mindful of the ships departure times, we have never missed a ship in 19 years. Regards Ian
    Maori living village
    Fredric_S, Feb 2020
    My rating is for the Maori The Living Village only, it was excellent. Loved the dances and music. Our guide in the village was amazing, so much personal knowledge of the culture and surroundings. The drive by of Rotorua and the redwoods was disappointing, no stops at all to experience the local town. Description of the tour a little misleading.
    Response from Host, Feb 2020
    If you can contact us and tell us on which day you took the tour we can look into the issues you mention. We are constrained by time but we do have stops along the way [if there is time] at a honey shop with a bee hive and display, a kiwifruit orchard, the Redwoods Forest and we also travel through the city of Rotorua. We do not think the tour description is misleading at all but will be happy to receive your comments direct to us. Regards Ian
    A Geothermal Must
    Kevin_W, Feb 2020
    A great experience, friendly people and excellent guide who gave great detail on life in the geothermal village
    Response from Host, Feb 2020
    Thanks for the feedback, the living Maori village at Te Whakarewarewa really is a fascinating place. Regards Ian
    Personal attention
    nfj2424, Jan 2020
    Our van driver arranged for us to have our own guide. It was wonderful. Instead of being in a group of 40+ tourists, we were in our own small group.
    Response from Host, Feb 2020
    Thanks for your review, we prefer to do these smaller group tours for our clients and will even go if we just have 2 persons, the average size of our tours are around 10 or 12 and this is what the clients prefer. Regards Ian
    A really great highlights tour of Rotorua/Tauranga!
    KimCuc_L, Jan 2020
    Our tour was in a van with only 10 people, so it felt very personalised and tailored to our needs and wants. Gary was very informative about the sights and fun facts about the scenery that we passed through between Tauranga and Rotorua, such as about some terraces that used to be and a shipwreck in Tauranga. We also asked a lot of questions about New Zealand in general and he was able to provide so much information. You also get to meet some of your like-minded cruise ship buddies on the way. It was so much cheaper, but better than what the cruise ship’s excursions provide. Thank you so much!
    Response from Host, Feb 2020
    Thanks for your very kind comments about the tour and our guide Gary. Our smaller group tours allow us to show you more and are often much better value. Pleased you had a good time. Regards Ian
    Rotorua
    Michael_C, Jan 2020
    Great tour for the day. Well organised and Gary our driver/guide was as exceptional. He was informative and made sure the day ran smooth. Highly recommend this tour especially when cruising like we were.
    Response from Host, Jan 2020
    Thanks for your feedback, pleased you enjoyed the day, our guides like to see that they are doing a good job, regards Ian
    very good and interesting
    Lynda_N, Jan 2020
    Enjoyed the whole trip.The play was great. The lunch was ok.Enjoyed the tour of the the village.Geothermal sights were wonderful. I enjoyed seeing how they took baths,
    Response from Host, Jan 2020
    Thanks for the feedback, the hangi lunch option we include is traditional Maori food and is not always to every ones taste. Interesting experience see the way the village is set up within the geothermal activity area.
    very good tour
    Stephen_R, Dec 2019
    Everything was well coordinated to get the most of our tour. Our driver, Gary Stickler, made sure we saw everything and took the time to make this an enjoyable experience. The village, dancers, geysers and extra stops made this well worth it.
    Response from Host, Dec 2019
    Thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your day with us at Cruise Tours Tauranga here in New Zealand. Regards Ian
    Had a great time!
    Richard_J, Nov 2019
    Very interesting tour and program. We enjoyed it very much! The dinner was good too! An amazing site!
    Clueless guide
    John_C, Feb 2019
    The young man we had as a guide to the village didn't have a clue. It seemed he didn't even want to be there. A Hungi meal was included with the tour but it was the tiniest piece of chicken, sweet potato and corn from the café. You wouldn't even know if it was cooked in the traditional way. Big let down.
    this tour open your eyes to the real...
    camellia p, Apr 2018
    this tour open your eyes to the real new zealand people and their way of life i recommend this tour to any one great price and agreat day