Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

From US$119.13

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 to 7 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Swap the Tauranga cruise port for the Shire, featured in "The Lord of the Rings" and "The Hobbit" trilogies, on a Hobbiton Movie Set shore excursion. Your tour includes movie structures such as hobbit holes, the party tree and the Mill. Sip a drink at the Green Dragon Inn, and then suit up in a favorite LOTR costume with a stop at McLaren Falls Park.
  • Visit the Hobbiton movie set on a shore excursion from Tauranga
  • Listen as your knowledgeable guide shares insider tales about the making of LOTR
  • Walk to the waterfalls, and dress up as your favorite LOTR character during a stop at McLaren Falls Park
  • Covered by Viator’s worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship

What's Included

  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Glass of ale, cider or gingerbeer
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Covered by Viator's worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Salisbury Avenue
    Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand

    Out side port of Tauranga main pedestrian gate on the corner of Salisbury Avenue and the Mall, under the flagpole.

Start time

10:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Located about an hour from Tauranga, where you’ll be picked up at the port, the Hobbiton Movie Set is situated on rolling farmland that depicts the Shire, a region inhabited by hobbits in The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

Departing the Bay of Plenty over the Tauranga Harbour Bridge, you’ll journey through the Kaimai mountain range before your group arrives at your Waikato destination near the town of Matamata.

Meet a specialized guide for a tour of the Hobbiton Movie Set, which provides an up-close look behind the scenes of director Peter Jackson’s famous film trilogies. LOTR fans can crouch in front of hobbit holes for photo ops and see structures such as the double-arched bridge, the Mill and the party tree, where Bilbo had his farewell birthday party.

Walk to the Green Dragon Inn, sip a complimentary local ale, cider or ginger beer.

After your meal, leave Hobbiton behind and make a stop at McLaren Falls Park for a bush walk to its namesake waterfalls. Here, your guide provides cloaks, hats and swords so you can dress up as your favorite character from The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit, posing for photos against this scenic backdrop.

On the way back to the Tauranga port, make a quick stop to taste New Zealand manuka honey, try local ice cream or stop at a beach, if time permits.

Worry-free Shore Excursion:We will ensure your timely return to the Tauranga port for this activity. In the rare event your ship has departed, we will arrange for transportation to the next port-of call. If your ship is delayed and you are unable to attend this activity, your money will be refunded. See our terms and conditions for full details.

Zealandier Tours

From the port of Tauranga - enjoy the local sights, history and points of interest en-route to the film site of the Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies. A unique movie set situated in the hills of a beautiful sheep and beef farm in Matamata. Enjoy a tour hour guided tour of the set and a nice cold ale or cider in the Green Dragon pub at the end, before being returned back to your ship.

6 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please wear comfortable clothing and walking shoes
  • Please bring sun protection and a light jacket for cooler weather
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
Operated by Zealandier Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Don't go all the way to New Zealand and miss seeing Hobbiton.
This tour was just fantastic, great experience walking around amongst the hobbit homes and getting close up to their little world, its really beneficial to have an knowledgeable guide when going through the village.
we have used Viator on many occasions and every trip has been both informative and enjoyable We recommend them to you.
153 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 153 reviews
David_R, Jan 2023
Iwe can not express high enough how wonderful this tour was for us. Steven our guide was brilliant. Hobbiton was fabulous. Went with Zealander tours afte ship cancelled our reservations. So glad we did price was 20% less than cruse ship. We booked online ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
A great day out
Colette_P, Jan 2023
Craig, our driver and guide, was a mine of local information. An all round great guy with a warm personality. It was a great day and so nice to have the stops at McClaren Falls and the ice creamery after Hobbiton.
Do Not Miss This Tour of Hobbiton
Debra_J, Jan 2023
This day was wonderful! It may have come a heavy rain during our tour but that did not dampen our spirits—they even provided rain coats and umbrellas (brollies). Our guide for the day was Jan and our driver, Maik. Together they made our day!!!Even though I had never read the books or seen the movies (my husband had done both) it was very interesting and now I want to do both! Our guide on the movie set , Lola, made it very interesting no matter how much knowledge of Hobbiton one had. Jan and Maik kept us entertained on and off the bus—stopping at beautiful McLearen Falls and treating us to NZ’s famous Hokey Pokey ice cream on the way back. I encourage everyone to book this trip with Viator when you are in the area—not only was the tour AMAZING, but I feel that I have two new friends in Jan and Maik. Zealandier Tours does an amazing job—recommend for all cruise ship passengers!!!!
Well organised Hobbiton Heaven
Steve_K, Jan 2023
Had a wonderful day out after missing it on previous trips. Duncan our Driver and guide was a top fella the trip to and from Hobbiton was very scenic. We had time for a quick break before joining the tour and we’re drawn in to Middle earth in the complete Peter Jackson experience. The tour is of a film set so it experienced in a theme park way but in a wonderful way. The landscape and attention to detail is outstanding. A credit to the NZ government the family that own the farm and Peter Jackson. But the guides encourage you to be involved and imagine great family tour. Very well organised and run. I would do it again the next time we are in NZ for sure. After the tour the ale and some lunch we were delivered back to the Tauranga port with enough time to walk around the Maunganui town before board the ship again.
Really Well Done
Eleanor_C, Jan 2023
The site is just well done and you get a nice long walk through Hobbiton and can take all the photos you want. It really is as picturesque and it seems.
Transported into Fantasy Land
robyn, Dec 2022
A fantastic, interesting commentary with superb surroundings. I will have to watch all the films again.
The highlight of the New Zealand cruise
Ignatius_C, Dec 2022
The guided tour at the Hobbiton movie set was great. The ice cream on the way back to the ship was a nice touch.
Excellent day trip even if you're not a fan of the movies!
Sarah_J, Dec 2022
Great excursion! The driver was skilled, the guide knowledgeable, funny and friendly, we left on time, got back in plenty of time to board the ship before All Aboard, and had an amazing time at Hobbiton. Even my mum loved it, and she's not even seen the movies! I wouldn't hesitate to book with Viator again.
Sam_C, Dec 2022
Fantastic tour. Our guide Stevie was brilliant. Complete Lords of the rings guru. Great opportunity for photos and exploring of the movie set. Great day out.
One to tick off the bucket list for any LOTR fans
James_L, Dec 2022
Having a drink in the green dragon inn but the whole of hobbiton was an amazing experience. Our guide Stevie was very knowledgeable
Response from Host, Dec 2022
HI James, pleased to read you have had a very enjoyable outing and have managed to tick this one off your bucket list. You have to keep an eye out for what might be happening at Hobbiton for next season. More adventures will await you. .
Need better direct to pickup spot
Karla_B, Dec 2022
Bad directions to pick up site. Map directions were wrong. On Viator app. Wasted time trying to find bus. Arrived as the last people and had bad seats. Too many people on bus.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hi Karla, I am really sorry that you could not find us at the port - our directions are really simple - as you exit the port main pedestrian gate we have a large white board situated on the grass area under the flag poles directly in front of where you exit - so I am somewhat confused as to why you could not find us - I think maybe as you were the last ones to arrive your tour guide was getting everybody settled into the coach and getting ready to depart - hence they were not standing with the white board where your names were listed and displayed . I am responding as the tour operator who delivers the tour - the website you booked on is not owned by us but we can look into this. Thankyou
A wizard is never late
Cheryl_H, Dec 2022
Bus driver, bus host and tour guide were all great. The bus meeting atea was easy to locate, just outside the port. Hobbiton is truly a magical place to visit.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Cheryl, we are delighted that you really enjoyed your visit to the movie set - words just do not do it justice - but you have captured it well - magical it is - thankyou also for taking the time to post a review - it is greatly appreciated and hopefully helpful to others who may have concerns about booking their tours. I will pass these kind word onto your tour guide who also will be delighted to receive positive feedback. Safe travels
Incredible Tour
David_L, Dec 2022
Incredible Tour. Duncan was amazing and so warm and friendly!!! For someone who has never watched Lord of the Rings it was a fun and entertaining tour.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
HI David, thankyou for sharing your experiences - and you are correct in saying that the Movie set tour is amazing regardless of whether you have read the books or watched the movies - it is one of those attractions that has amazement & wonder everywhere you look. I will share your positive comments with Duncan - who looked after you for the day.
Fabulous Hobbiton
Richard_C, Nov 2022
Hobbiton was fabulous but our tour driver, Zenan was also great. Very knowledgeable and entertaining.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
HI Richard, thankyou for sharing your experience of your recent tour to Hobbiton Movie Set. And yes Nevan has a wealth of knowledge and informaton to share and has so much energy about him.
Best tour of the whole 51...
Johnny_A, Nov 2022
Best tour of the whole 51 day cruise so far! Nevan was outstanding; sharing a wealth of knowledge about NZ history and culture!
Exploring Hobbiton.
Diane_P, Nov 2022
This tour was the highlight of our trip. So well organised and our guide was excellent. Despite the rain the tour went ahead with umbrellas. We explored the site and finished with a free drink at the Green Dragon. Highly recommend it.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Diane, thankyou for taking the time to share your experiences and most of all thankyou for enjoyed yourselves despite the rain. Safe travels.
Hobbiton Tour with Viator was a Great Experience!
Barbara_Z, Oct 2022
We loved booking through Viator because it was so easy! We loved the guarantee to get us back to our ship as well. Bothe the driver and the tour guide on the bus were fabulous and very informative. The Hobbiton guide was wonderful bringing Hobbiton to life and made it so fun! Have already recommended Viator to lots of friends! Thank you so much!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thankyou Barbara for taking time to share and post your experiences of your tour. This is greatly appreciated.
Fun day
Sharon_M, Oct 2022
Our guide was very helpful made our trip special. Enjoy our tour had plenty of time to take pictures. Our driver even got us ice cream!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Sharon, thankyou for taking the time to post a positive message about your day out to Hobbiton Movie Set. This is greatly appreciated.
Great tour, driver and...
Jack_G, Oct 2022
Great tour, driver and guide. Our only complaint is that with Viator, groups have always been quite small, and this group was 40+.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
HI Jack - thankyou for taking time to feedback, and I am pleased you enjoyed your days outing - as it was our first cruise ship visit in near on 3 years. I am really sorry you we had to hire in a coach to offer this service - but tourism in New Zealand is totally under resourced –There are very few tour operators in existence in NZ post the pandemic and those of us who survived have far less vehicles and staff available - therefore there is going to be very few seats available for anybody to come ashore and enjoy an excursion - we want our tourists to at very least have an opportunity to do and see something ashore after travelling this far. We were the last country in the world to open to tourism and we had next to no lead in time (just 2 months) – given we have experienced 2.5 years of no tourism, has meant lack of trained staff and / or vehicles, this even includes the attractions we visit – they too are only running at half capacity due to no staff. Unfortunately - we will all have to endure this for some time to come - we are a good 9 -12 months behind the rest of the world when it comes to tourism resources. It will improve but it will be slowly.
Not a small tour
Maureen_D, Oct 2022
Our supposed small tour was a large bus of 44. We were told the bus was too big to go down the road to the waterfall. Took forever to get these people off and on the bus! We enjoyed Hobbiton
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hi Maureen - I understand your complaint about not being in a vehicle with up to 19 passengers as advertised on Trip Advisor site - and I take responsability for you ending up in a large coach on this occasion. Your cruise ships arrival was not on our original port scheduled. It is my understandiing your cruise ship was supposed to go to Samoa but couldn't so was diverted to our port (Tauranga) here in New Zealand. We originally had no capacity for anybody on this date as we have other multiday tours which our company operates around New Zealand, given we have not had any international tourists until 2 months ago we have been surviving on NZ tours for New Zealanders. This meant I had staff & vehicles away over this weekend when your ship was to arrive unexpectedly , so best we could do to offer any tours for anybody from your ship was to hire in a coach from another company. Two of us tour operators did this to try to offer opportunity for travellers from your ship to at least have some touring experience. There are very few tour operators in existance in NZ post the pandemic and those of us who survived have far less vehicles and staff available - therefore there is going to be very few seats available for anybody to come ashore and enjoy an excursion - we want our tourists to at very least have an opportunity to do and see something ashore after travelleing this far. I am really sorry you did not enjoy your excursion due to the amount of people in your coach - the amount of people in your group on the Movie set would have always been 45 as that is the number that Hobbiton put into any one tour - all small groups join collectively to full a Hobbit Bus which is 45 seats - they too have limited resources to offer so we were fortunate to have a space allocated for us on this date at short notice. I sincerely thought I was doing the best I could to ensure as many people from your ship got the opportunity to experience the movie set. You chose to place your booking through Trip Advisor / Viator rather than us directly - and I can not amend the tour itinerary on their website for a one off occurance. If you had booked directly through our website you may have had more communication with us about this. These are the times we now live in and we certainly did not set out to mislead anybody, we tried our best to give you an opportunity of an experience with the time you had ashore.