Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

6 hour Small-Group Rotorua Naturally Shore Excursion From Tauranga

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

From US$83.19

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

    Operated by:

    What's Included

    • Experienced professional guide
    • Fully Guided Tour with commentary
    • Port pickup and drop-off
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Lunch

    Meeting And Pickup

    You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

    Meeting point

    • 4 Salisbury Avenue
      4 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand

      The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.

    Pickup point

    • Tauranga New Zealand

    Start time

    Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

    Opening hours

    • 6/1/2022 - 5/31/2023

      Monday - Sunday : 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Pickup details

    The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Family friendly tour
    • Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
    • You must provide your own infant/baby seat if required.
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips


    Would have liked maybe 5 minutes to take photos at the Government House and/or Sulphur Point but understand that sometimes places are busy and parking can be an issue, so that was no big deal really.
    It's too long drive out to Rotorua in my opinion, at least an hour and a half.
    Reviews
    4.5
    148 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 148 reviews
    Beautiful and Informative Trip
    George_G, Feb 2023
    I really enjoyed the views of the New Zealand country side, the mud pots, the views of Lake Rotorua, walking through the redwood forest, the view of Okere Falls, and seeing the Kiwi farms. Simon, our guide, was especially knowledgeable and provided interesting historical insights to all the places we visited. I left the tour with a greater appreciation of New Zealand.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Thanks for your very positive review, Simon does a great job.
    Well worth the ticket price
    Lorie_C, Jan 2023
    Great tour with Simon. He was very knowledgeable and took us to Rotorua, Redwoods and Māori village past Kiwi fruit
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    So pleased you enjoyed our shorter lower cost tour to Rotorua, regards Ian
    Was interesting and a...
    Harley, Jan 2023
    Was interesting and a good day. Even though we were late leaving because of some people were over half an hour late joining the tour. Because we had to wait. We missed out a couple of things at the end of the day which is a little disappointing but had to get back to the ship.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for the review and sorry you felt you missed out one some things due to the late arrival of some of the group. In fact on this day we had 3 coaches doing the tour to Hobbiton and we loaded people onto the buses as they arrived, from 9.30am through to 10am, the buses all left within 5 minutes of the scheduled time. The things at the end of the day that were missed was the drive up to a scenic viewpoint as the weather as atrocious and you would not have seen anything. We are always aware of the need to be back at the ship in good time, especially when the weather is bad. Regards Ian
    Highlights of Rotorua with Simon
    Lynn_A, Jan 2023
    Simon was great in making the most of the short time we had at the port. Managed to cover a lot of points of historic significance on the trip. Simon is very knowledgeable and we left with an enriching experience of the Moari heritage. Highlight was definitely the Thermal park.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    So pleased you enjoyed the tour with Simon who really goes the extra mile to make your tour an interesting and enjoyable trip.
    Fabulous, friendly and fun
    Jen_A, Jan 2023
    We loved this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Tauranga. Simon was so informative, friendly, and made everyone feel so welcome. Not one of your 'big' tours which made it so personal and engaging. Highly recommend!
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Pleased you had a good time, we also prefer to offer smaller group tours as these are always better than large coach tours.
    Excellent tour
    Ramon_M, Jan 2023
    Brian our tour guide was extremely informative, adaptable, with great local knowledge and of Māori culture. The tour had a good variety of stops (thermal springs, forest, waterfalls). Although we hadn’t paid for the tour which included entry to the main attractions at Rotuara, Brian took us to all the little known spots where you could still see some of the same things. The mini bus was comfortable and air conditioned. We enjoyed being on a small group tour rather than a large group. Very satisfied with the whole experience and very good value compared to Cruise Line excursions.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for the very positive feedback. ON this tour we do try and show you as much of the geothermal sights as possible without paying the almost $100 to get into the two main geothermal parks.
    Excellent guide who...
    Leslie_S, Jan 2023
    Excellent guide who covered a wide range of topics on life in New Zealand. The redwoods were beautiful too.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for youre very positive review on this tour.
    Surprising sight in Rotorua
    Diane_S, Jan 2023
    The redwoods area of Rotorua were unexpected and amazing. Our guide, Simon, was a great source of information for this tour.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    So pleased you had such a good time on our tour. Regards Ian
    Wonderful tour, but...
    Maxine_M, Jan 2023
    Wonderful tour, but driver overloaded us with history, & kept people standing in the rain while he talked
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Sorry that you felt the guide gave you too much information, usually our clients like to have as much info as possible but can understand that on a rainy day you would rather be sitting in the minibus, will pass on your feedback to our guide, regards Ian
    All of it and our guide...
    Frances_D, Jan 2023
    All of it and our guide Simon was extremely knowledgeable He made the tour extremely interesting despite it being a tropical thunderstorm !!
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    So pleased you enjoyed the tour despite the weather being so aweful. Regards Ian
    Rotorua excursion
    mira_e, Jan 2023
    The tour covered so many beautiful things near Tauranga. Simon, our tour guide, was excellent. He was so informative and made the experience exceptional!! Loved it and highly recommend this tour.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    So pleased you had a great time on the tour. Regards Ian
    Where are the hot springs, boiling mud and geisers?
    Don_C, Jan 2023
    I think at the trip should have included more time to view the geothermal activity in Rotarua. Apart from on lake and a minor mud pool we did not see any of the activity. However the trip there and back was interesting, but the experience was not what I exected
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    The tour you booked does not go into the geothermal village of Whakarewarewa or Te Puia, this would add $100 to the tour cost and we offer these option on our other tours that cost $190, not the $125 you paid for the short tour that we offer for those on a budget. You would have seen some of the steaming geothermal lakes during the tour but certainly NOT the erupting geysers, it seems you just booked the wrong tour, so sorry that you did have the experience that you were expecting. Regards Ian
    Nice tour around the Rotarua area but did not see much of what Rotarua is famous for.
    wayne_m, Jan 2023
    Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and we covered a lot of territory. I expected to see more. We saw a few hot springs but no mud pools or geysers.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    If you want to see the geysers and mud pools up close then you should have booked our tours which include the $100 entry fee to one of the two locations in Rotorua where you can get close to these sights. The lower cost tour at $125 NZ pp can not obviously show you these places. We are sorry that this spoilt your day. As in much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. Regards Ian
    Don’t do this tour
    amanda, Dec 2022
    The tour itinerary is badly planned - skimming over too much and leaving everything unsatisfactory. Graeme, probably a nice man, was no tour guide. He did not know basic information about the area and threw no light on it. The bus PA system did not work. We stopped for brief moments and were told of how expensive a real visit to any of the attractions would be. Lunch was at a Māori village which we could not enter. No options for vegetarian (not even a sandwich). Graeme was inflexible when things did not go as planned. We were very disappointed
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Sorry that you did not enjoy the tour. The maori village you went to see at Whakarewarewa would cost an extra $100 to enter for the guided tour, the maori cultural performance and the hangi lunch. We have that option on the more expensive tour but you selected the lower cost tour. Many places here are struggling with staff and the village cafe you visited is one of those. We try and show you as much of the sights of Rotorua as possible without going into the chargable destinations as some people are on a budget. Regards Ian
    Great tour in bad weather with the best driver/host
    Pamela_H, Dec 2022
    Simon is a wonderful driver and tour host, clear and articulate, as well as intelligent and entertaining. No question was too hard, but if he didn't know the answer he said so. Weather was raining, but he described what we could have been able to see without the fog and rain. He gave enough history without becoming boring, and had 10yo's asking good questions. I would recommend this tour to anyone who hasn't been to Rotorua.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks for your review, Simon does do a great job and certainly delivers on this great value for money tour option, regards Ian
    Tauranga & Rotorua Tour
    AnnMarie_D, Dec 2022
    The tour guide Brian was extremely helpful and stayed calm despite some of the scheduling issues. He made it a great tour for all. Viator schedule indicated 9:30 departure yet when we arrived at the meeting spot our name was on an 11 AM departure because the actual tour company schedules the actual tour departure time. It did cause confusion and some people became aggressive. Brian maintained his cool the entire time. The tour was well worth it.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    The issue with the timing is due to the way Viator store a "standard" tour start time. For every booking we receive and accept, we send a message to each client through the Viator system to advise them of the correct start time which we change to suit the ships ETA and ETD. So if you had looked at this message then you would have been aware of the updated time. We have now had Viator not use a standard time on all our tours, but just a tour start range, from 9am to 12 mid day, then you are not sent automated emails by Viator giving you incorrect info. No one should be aggressive in such situation, our guides are lovely people and we do not tolerate such behaviour to our staff. Had i been made aware of this on the day those who were behaving in such a way would not have travelled on our tour. Still we are pleased you enjoyed the tour with Brian despite the shaky start, regards Ian
    Very interesting and informative tour.
    Debra_M, Dec 2022
    Our guide and driver, Simon, was a bundle of information. He conducted a very interesting and informative tour as well answering an abundance of other questions. Would highly recommend this tour.
    Viator is NOT a good organised touring agent
    Gazel_C, Nov 2022
    we joined the small group Rotorua Excursion. On the day of our boat docked on the port, we tried our very best to the departure point : 1 Mall as the ticket indicated. We found out no one was there, then we tried to call and email (many calls and emails). There was no one to respond the call and no one answer the email. Also it is ridicules that we did not have the driver's contact and no one contact us either. Very obviously that we missed the tour and we asked for the refund but was rejected. Please be fair that even your goggle map also indicated that the departure point was in 1 Mall. We have captured the evidence and will proceed to New Zealand Travel commission
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    We are sorry that you missed the tour, the booking information states that the meeting point is just outside the port gates, on the grass, by the flag pole, where our staff and guides are waiting. This is at the junction of two street, The Mall and Salisbury Avenue. This is the location where 100's of cruise ship passengers are meeting the guides. We are sorry that the pin on the google map was at the wrong location but do think that the details meeting information given on the booking should have allowed you to find the tour leader in the same way that about 150 people from this ship managed to do.
    Brilliant Day
    David_S, Oct 2022
    Despite it being a rainy day , we met our Driver , Graham, as arranged . Very friendly and knowledgeable he took us to places of interest and made the day most enjoyable. It was particularly good being just a small group tour - there were just six of us in a comfortable minibus .
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Thanks for the great feedback, shame the weather was so bad, would have been good to have filled up the other 6 seats. Regards ian
    Great day in Tauranga
    Marian_V, Oct 2022
    Simon was an excellent guide who entertained us stories and interesting facts throughout the trip. We enjoyed the 5 different stops throughout the day and there was a lunch stop for drinks and snacks at a reasonable price.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Thanks Marian, so pleased your enjoyed the small group tour. Regards Ian
    ...