InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton

Wellington, New Zealand
InterIslander Ferry Wellington to Picton

From US$45.69

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes


Board the InterIslander ferry for a 3-hour cruise across Cook Strait, which links New Zealand’s capital city in the North Island to a charming enclave in the South Island. The Wellington-to-Picton ferry offers daily service one way, with jaw-dropping views along one of the world’s most scenic waterways.
  • InterIslander ferry one-way ticket
  • Ferry from Wellington to Picton across Cook Strait
  • View the North Island, South Island and Queen Charlotte Sound
  • Daily ferry services provided

What's Included

  • One way InterIslander ferry trip from Wellington to Picton
  • Free shuttle from Wellington Railway Station (Platform 9) an hour before sailing departs
  • Access to viewing decks
  • 2x 23kg baggage allowance
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks (can be purchased on board)
  • Kennels are provided for traveling with dogs at a cost of $15
  • Carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear cost of $15 per item

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Wellington
    Wellington Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand

    Interislander Ferry Terminal - 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington

End point

  • Picton Port
    Auckland Street, Picton 7281, New Zealand

What To Expect

Ride the InterIslander ferry from Wellington to Picton, cruising from the North Island to the South Island via Cook Strait. Depart the vibrant harbor city of Wellington for the shores of quaint Picton, nestled in Queen Charlotte Sound at the heart of the Marlborough Sounds. 

Experience the dramatic beauty of the region steeped in forest-clad hills, and view both islands from the ferry deck. Snap photos of the Kaikoura Ranges and search the sparkling waters for marine life such as seabirds, dolphins, seals, whales and orcas.

Upon reaching Picton, disembark at this South Island hub, gateway to the Marlborough region.

Note: This InterIslander ferry option does not allow travel with your vehicle.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Apart from designated areas, smoking is not permitted inside the ship.
  • The InterIslander fleet has 3 vessels: The Kaitaki (carrying up to 1600 passengers), The Aratere (carrying up to 350 passengers) and the Kaiarahi (carrying up to 550 passengers).
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • From Picton, some InterIslander ferry sailing's connect with the Coastal Pacific train service to Kaikoura and Christchurch.
  • Check in at the terminal at least 45 minutes prior to departure time
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Cafes and a food court
  • Fast-food takeaway bar
  • Shop for travel needs, souvenirs, magazines and confectionery
  • Movie theater (on selected ships)
  • Video games parlor
  • Lounge and tavern bar
  • Observation deck
  • Children's play area and nursery
  • Most travelers can participate
  • During off-peak sailing's, some facilities are only open for a limited time
  • Surcharge applies to additional services including extra luggage, large sporting equipment, traveling with pets. The option of carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear (for example, canoes or surfboards), is an additional cost per item. If you are traveling with dogs, kennels are provided at an extra cost, ensuring your pet's comfort and safety, and your peace of mind. There are a limited number of kennels available.
  • The luggage allowance is two (2) items of baggage per person. Additional baggage items may be carried, subject to availability and on the payment of an additional charge. Larger baggage, including backpacks, must be checked in at the Wellington terminal. Baggage can then be collected from the carousels at the port of arrival. InterIslander will not accept individual baggage items which exceed either 23 kilograms in weight, or 200 linear centimeters (height and length and width) in dimension. For safety reasons, there are no exceptions to the weight restriction. However, the restriction in dimension is relaxed for sporting equipment.
  • Infants aged 1 year and under travel free of charge.
  • Children aged 2 to 14 years inclusive qualify for the child rate.
  • Youths aged 18 years and under are not permitted to travel in the Plus Lounge.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
This was one of the nicest, most comfortable ferry rides I have ever taken. The crew was very accommodating and the offerings were top notch.


303 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 303 reviews
This is the way to travel between the islands in New Zealand.
Caroline_A, Aug 2023
This is a great way to get from the North Island to the South Island in New Zealand. The staff on board were friendly and courteous, and the passage was smooth and uneventful. Traveling in New Zealand winter, I had anticipated bumpy seas, but I barely felt any movement at all. Additionally, the seating areas were very empty, so I had lots of space to myself. I bought dinner on board, the food was uninteresting but adequate. Once arriving at the ferry terminal in Picton, my luggage arrived in a timely manner, as I was a foot passenger and didn't have my own vehicle. All in all, a great journey.
The ferry was delayed 5...
Maureen_K, Aug 2023
The ferry was delayed 5 hours so I had to cancel the trip. We had purchased 2 round trip tickets. One from Wellington to Picton and the other Picton to Wellington. With a 5 hour ferry delay we couldn’t go and return on the same day. I have only been credited with one trip. Very disappointed. I have notified Viator by phone and several emails and have still not been credited with the 2 trips
Easy check in and...
Imogen_J, Aug 2023
Easy check in and boarding Good quality food from the cafe Lots of clean and comfortable areas to sit
Interesting ferry
pradeep_k, Mar 2023
The ship is huge and journey is quite comfortable.However,going to open deck was not possible because of cold.View during the ride is also quite good. Our originally allotted ship had broken down and we were rebooked in another ship leaving very early in morning which was very inconvenient and spent a few tension filled hours when ship was cancelled.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Kia ora! Thanks for your review. Thank you for choosing to sail with Interislander and we are sorry that it didn't live up to expectation for you. When one of our ferries lost power temporarily during our peak peak season, it left us in a serious predicament to move disrupted passengers to alternative sailings. The team did our best possible to move people into space where possible so we did not have to cancel you. Hope you had safe onwards travel! Kind regards and thanks, Kseniia
All Staff from...
leonie_t, Mar 2023
All Staff from information, ticketing boarding and service friendly, comfortable seating , cold drinks great music.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Kia ora, Leonie! We really appreciate your kind feedback! I am so pleased you had a wonderful trip from start to finish and got to enjoy what sounds like our bands on board, where a band plays in the bar on Kaitaki sailings! Hope your onward travel was just as great! Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Effortless crossing
Ali_S, Mar 2023
Pleasant, comfortable surroundings. All the staff were polite and helpful. Tannoy announcements kept us briefed!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Kia ora, Ali! Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate the kind feedback and we are so pleased you had a great trip with Interislander. Our staff are all the best aren't they! Hope to welcome you back onboard sometime. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Not the best experience
John_F, Mar 2023
Ferry was delayed 4 hours and finally left Wellington when we should have been arriving in picton. Cafe at terminal was closed so unable to get a drink or something to eat
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Kia ora, John! Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear your ferry was delayed. This was due to a ferry disruption and heavy loads trying to accommodate as many disrupted passengers as possible. The cafe was also closed as crew were all hands on deck to help affected passengers. I have passed your feedback onto the team. We are all back and running as normal and hope you will travel again. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Time keeping was poor
Pam_R, Feb 2023
We had terrible delays which made us late for our car hire and accommodation . Otherwise the boat was fine, clean and reasonably comfortable
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Kia ora, Pam! Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the delays. Unfortunately when you travelled, one of our ferries had a mechanical issue and the onward effect of this is the other ships being full and when sailing all day can become delayed. Your personal insurance can cover these things for you if you had any cost loss. We hope the rest of your journey was good. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Ferry ride from Wellington to Picton
Barbara_S, Feb 2023
The ride was calm and the ferry is so roomy! Lots of seats and places to eat! I would highly recommend this ferry! Also there is a free shuttle to the ferry terminal from the railway station.
Response from Host, May 2023
Kia ora, Barbara! Thanks for your lovely review! So pleased you had a great trip with us! The free shuttle from the terminal to the railway station and vise versa, is a great option to take advantage of if travelling to and from the city centre! Hope you had a great rest of your journey. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Maree_P, Feb 2023
The sailing over the Cook Strait was very smooth, felt you were gliding. Staff were friendly and plenty of views on the InterIslander
Response from Host, May 2023
Kia ora, Maree! Thanks for your fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear you had a smooth trip and enjoyed the service of our lovely staff. We hope to welcome you back onboard soon. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Improve communication regarding problems
Melissa_P, Feb 2023
Unfortunately, we had poor weather for our crossing, so visibility was poor - nothing that can be controlled. However, there was an issue with a disabled ferry heading in the other direction that necessitated our ship to wait for their safe transport back into Wellington Harbor. I appreciate the need for us to stay in place, but the communication of the situation was less than optimal and I observed a member of the bar staff responding quite rudely to a passenger who asked for more information. Customer service and improved communication would help significantly in these situations.
Response from Host, May 2023
Kia ora, Melissa! Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you felt the communication was not ideal. I have ensured to pass this feedback onto team to see how we can improve. Hope you had safe onwards travel. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Great experience
Laxmi_B, Jan 2023
Very nice experience. Great lookout points, entertainment, food, lovely staff. Need to be atleast one hour early to board, otherwise you will miss the ferry.
Response from Host, May 2023
Kia ora! Thanks so much for your great review! So pleased you had an overall lovely trip with us at Interislander. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Effiency at the port. On...
Noeleen_F, Jan 2023
Effiency at the port. On schedule and the beautiful surroundings crossing to Picton. Staff very pleasant
Response from Host, May 2023
Kia ora! Thanks so much for your lovely 5-star review! So pleased ton hear you had an all round great journey. This is what we pride ourselves on at Interislander! Hope to welcome you back again sometime! Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Easiest way to get between islands.
Mohana_R, Dec 2022
A cruise ship converted into a ferry, this is an amazing way to get from the north island to the south island. A bar, cafe, atrium, plus play area and cinema - it's like being on a cruise ship for a day.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Kia ora! Thank you for your kind review on Interislander. We agree, it is like a mini cruise! Beautiful views and lots to do! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Beautiful Journey Across the Cook Strait
Aleta_C, Dec 2022
A beautiful journey across the Cook Strait. The service was excellent and the spaces on the ferry were well designed to enjoy the spectacular views. A great crew in Baird!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Kia ora Aleta! Thanks so much for your wonderful review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed our amenities and our crews incredible service! We hope the rest of your holiday was just as good! Kind regards and thanks, Karen
Russell_F, Oct 2022
Time to relax before the next part of our trip. We are on a family orientated journey and Blenheim was the next call.
Stephanie_H, May 2022
Weather was very windy when we left Wellington. The check-in was easy and fast with the staff very helpful. Lots of seating space on the ship as a walk 🚶‍♂️ on passenger you choose the seating before the drive on passengers board. Would I d do it again and again as the views are amazing.
My once in a long time ferry trip!!!
Barbara_H, May 2022
Leaving on time... arriving on time... having a lovely meal on board...watching TV during the trip. The staff were pleasant and welcoming and helped us with our bikes....
A trip to remember
MohammedAnnas_A, May 2022
Check-in was easy and fast. Staff were friendly. Many seating areas. It was chilly and a bit choppy so we didn't use the top deck to view the crossing’s scenery. It was an experience in itself.
Nice trip with ferry
Petra_B, Mar 2020
Calm sea, further information about the surrounding by the captain, passenger by foot needed to embark by bus as the gangway area is under construction in Wellington but it worked quite well.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton


3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Northern Explorer Train Journey from Wellington to Auckland


11 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do