Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Wellington Sightseeing Tour

Wellington, New Zealand

From US$66.66

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 20 minutes (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Whether it’s your first time in Wellington or you just want to see as much as possible during your time in port, this half-day sightseeing tour offers a great introduction to the city and a diverse range of sights. Visit the iconic Weta Cave and the historic Old St. Paul’s Cathedral, ride the Wellington cable car to the top of the city, and enjoy panoramic views from the top of Mount Victoria.
  • If you’re at a hotel or on a cruise ship, pick-ups and drop-offs are provided
  • Don’t miss any city highlights with your guide's help
  • You won’t fight to get your questions answered on this small-group tour
  • No hidden costs: all entry fees and taxes are covered with this tour

What's Included

  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
  • Tour escort/host
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Transport by private vehicle
  • Drinks
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup point

  • Wellington

Start time

Opening hours

  • 6/1/2022 - 5/31/2023

    Monday - Saturday : 07:30 AM - 05:00 PM

    Sunday : 07:30 AM - 04:30 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Your pickup time is in our Viator confirmation booking message to you. Please refer back to that message. Cruise Ship passengers will be picked up at the port in Wellington as they disembark. STAY AT THE PORT even if your ship tells you that you must catch a shuttle bus. We have security clearance to meet you at the ship. STAY AT THE PORT. Our representatives will be on the right of the gangway when you disembark holding signs with names.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Cruise ship passengers will be met in the private tours area to the left of the ship as you disembark. DO NOT take a shuttle into the city
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


If you have limited time and want to have an awesome, fun, comprehensive sightseeing tour, then Wellington Sightseeing tour and Richard, is the way to go.
Another place on the confirmation said it was at 10 a.m. Big difference!
Reviews
5.0
270 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 270 reviews
All of Wellington
Theodore_V, Jan 2023
Fantastic guide who took us to lookouts, coast line, movie studios, and tram ride. He kept pointing out flora and fauna as well as any interesting sights and was more than willing to stop at any of them. We’ll worth the money and time.All
Excellent tour in Wellington!
Mary_S, Jan 2023
From the start of our meeting up with our tour guide, James made the experience delightful! He’s very personable and laid back. He immediately learned our names and knew our voices, when we asked questions. We had a great time and really enjoyed our experience in Wellington!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated, and really glad that you enjoyed the tour.
Wellington
Karen_W, Jan 2023
We really enjoyed this tour. It hit all the highlights and we didn’t feel rushed. Dennis did an excellent job!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thanks for this review. Good to hear Dennis gave you a memorable experience with us. We will pass your comments on to him.
Great tour driver very flexible
STEPHEN_H, Jan 2023
Cable car and rose garden mount victoria and scenic drive around waterfront with great commentary from driver
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour
Intro onto Wellington
Michelle_R, Jan 2023
Great Intro to Wellington, Dean our guide was really helpful. Always accommodating with photo stops. Never felt rushed
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour with Dean
Great views
Lloyda_B, Dec 2022
We received a personal tour as only 2 of us was booked. Richard gave us a wonderful tour despite rain disruption. Great views and history.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour
Great trip
Satish_P, Dec 2022
It was a great tour and well worth it. Peter was our guide and he was very friendly and gave us good service.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review and i am glad you enjoyed the tour with Peter
Our Gide was amazing , ...
Malvina_S, Dec 2022
Our Gide was amazing , very good ,kind ,have lots of knowledge . We really enjoyed our tour in Wellington.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you had a good time in Wellington
Wellington in brief
Ian_T, Dec 2022
Driver Dean is knowledgeable and friendly. The tour covered a large area, it included both early and modern housing, NZ American cup history, harbour sites and great views of city and waterways. A worthwhile tour.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the tour with Dean
Wonderful half day tour
sheri_s, Dec 2022
Dean was a fabulous and funny guide Most informative and personable In a dreary rainy day Dean made the tour come alive
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed the tour with Dean
Steve was the perfect tour guide.
csoudersluys, Dec 2022
I we enjoyed the entire experience Steve was extremely personable and knowledgeable and made sure that everyone was comfortable and happy and answered any questions. The weather wasn't great but he definitely made the best of it.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour with Steve
Disappointing
Julie_T, Dec 2022
It would seem there isn’t a great deal to see in Wellington and we felt we were getting the equivalent of a small hop on hop off bus tour - Sorry - but this one wasn’t worth it!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. I presume you are talking about the hop on, hop out, hop off tour run on cruise days only. This tour is designed to give you a taste of what there is in Wellington. It covers all the major tour spots except for Weta Cave. I am sorry you did not enjoy this tour
Tour cut short by driver
Ben_K, Dec 2022
Pretty City. Enjoyed touring the outskirts. The tour director was a disappointment. He only wanted to rush us thru a scheduled 3 1/2 hr tour into 2 hr. The bus travelled so fast we couldn’t get pictures in. He gave us an option to get off at the Botanical Gardens or Givernment Buildings- not both. Then dropped us off downtown and said “we covered a 3 hr tour (even though it was only 2) and said we’re dropping you off here.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. Interesting comments which I will discuss with our tour guides
Disappointing Wellington Sightseeing Tour
Hendi_T, Dec 2022
We were supposed to be picked up at 9.00am, as per the itinerary, which said that if our ship docks at or before 8.00am, then we would be picked up at the port an hour later at 9.00am. We arrived just before 9.00am and waited for 45mins in the chill of Wellington morning wind. We rang the tour operator and was advised that we were late and that they have been waiting since 8.00am. I said that how could we be late if our ship has just arrived at 8.00am. The response that we received was that it is too bad, we were late. There was no effort from the Tour Operator to offer us help, until we argued and were told to catch a shuttle to the information centre in the city to find their representative and see what they can do. We went to the city and explained the situation and was told the same thing. Further argument and finally they said they can put us on a different time of tour.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
I am sorry you had a bad experience. We are working with Viator to make it very clear as to the tour start times. We had over 100 people on tours that day and you were the only one that arrived too late. Your ship actually berthed just after 7am with most of the tours departing just after 8am. Our representative waited at the port till 9am and you must have just missed her.
Excellent excursion, highly recommended. ,
Lynn_C, Dec 2022
Excellent trip, brilliant commentary from our driver Richard who was most knowledgeable of Wellington and surrounding areas. Would definitely recommend this trip. We were picked up from our cruise port on time.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the tour.
Great holiday made greater
Dianne_C, Dec 2022
Great communication from tour operator. Easy instructions to find their bus after cruise ship docked. Tour guide Stan was friendly and accommodating. He made our tour an enjoyable experience. Would highly recommend a tour with this company.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour with Stan
One of the best tours I have been on.
craig_b, Nov 2022
The knowledge shared including obscure and quirky information from the past was brilliant. Our guide Stan was fun and engaging and we all had great time which included the subtle and not so subtle Kiwi digs at the Aussies expense. One of the best tours I have been on and would highly recommend and encourage people to go on.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. Stan is a bit of a character so I am really glad you enjoyed th etour with him
Wonderful Wellington tour
John_C, Nov 2022
The tour was excellent. We enjoyed it all, but especially the great views and our guide's historical and personal stories of Wellington
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi John Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the tour.
Excellent!
Bryan_C, Nov 2022
Very nice tour of Wellington! Our guide Allen was great too. I would recommend this tour for anyone visiting for the first time. Do this first and you’ll have a good sense of different parts of the cities and what to visit.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Bryan Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your tour. Allan has lived in Wellington all his life and loves meeting people and those two things together make him a great guide. Once again thank you for your review.
Love it.
Sam_L, Nov 2022
Allen is a great guy & very friends. Nice place + turned out to be a beautiful day in Wellington & we love it.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Sam Thank you for review. Glad you enjoyed the tour and I will pass on your comments to Allan Once again thank you for your review
...